7600GT temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2007, 05:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default 7600GT temps

So I just finished putting my new system together yesterday night and I've been watching the temps on this thing carefully and I've noticed my GPU (EVGA 7600GT) never really drops below about 115F*. This can't be right, My CPU is fine, it's never gone above 90F*, But I'm worried about the video card. Do they normally run this hot? The temperature doesn't fluctuate much, just sort of stays in the 115-120 range. It seems kind of odd to me that it would be doing the same amount of work to display windows as it does to display halo. I'm guessing the heatsink and fan on these cards is just trash and I should get a zalman but I don't really want to do that. Could it also the a faulty sensor? I just can't see this thing idling that high. Also I'd like to know if there's any perks to these cards, I.E unlockable pipelines, how far I can OC it, things like that. Also what would be a good program to use to OC this card if I were to do so. Anybody who can help, it's greatly appreciated, I'm trying to squeeze as much performance out of this thing as I possibly can.
__________________

M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

That is the 46 to 48 degree celcius range for your GPU which is normal for cards with standard cooling. You don't have a problem.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-24-2007, 11:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Then my next question is how would I go about OCing it? Would it really be worth it? Would I see marginal improvement?
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 07:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

You can overclock it, by using ATI Tool, which also supports nvidia cards. I overclocked my 7600GT in my sig, but I didn't see a big performance increase.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-25-2007, 08:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Nothing to worry about, temps are fine
jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.