7600,7900,7950? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Question 7600,7900,7950?

Alright, I've had my pc for roughly 6 months, it runs exceptionally well. Take a look at my sig for details, now to the point.

A few topics back a user suggested i purchase a 7900 card instead of running SLi with my current 7600GT by evega. I've looked at a few cards, one in particular is in fact by XFX.

There 7900 does not support SLi, has a lower clock speed then my 7600 but, does in fact rear more pixel pipelines, which i have read makes a serious difference in rendering graphics in video games and such. I.E the more piplelines, the smoother the graphics.

But, if i want a upgrade to either SLi or a single card, should i go with the 7900GT? and also, how can one get the max resolution on a monitor? or does the actual support fall on the monitor itself.
Example: 7600GT max resolution is 2560 x 1600 my current resolution is 1280 x 1024
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

The max resolution depends on what you're monitor can actually display, I'm sure your current 7600GT can probably produce some resolutions out of your monitors frequency range.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...n=7900&Ntk=all

Any one of those would slay SLI'd 7600s. Also where did you get your idea that they don't support SLI? Besides the point that SLI is completely worthless almost all if not every single one of the 7900's can be SLI'd.
__________________

__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 01:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

I remember you, you were the one who told me to overclock, I've set my motherboard to auto overclock, does that count? And as far as SLi goes, yes, i've read the 'cold hard truth' bout it, i'am not seriously a fan, probably because i lack Quake and other games like it but, oh well.

So, i need a monitor with a higher resolution and a 7900, i think one of the GT models will suffice.
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

I don't think there are monitors that support a resolution of 2560x1600. I've got a 21" CRT myself, and the max supported resolution is 1800x1440 (I use it in 1600x1200 though).

A 7900GT would be a very good upgrade.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

objecterror: After getting my new monitor (1680x1050 vs 1024x768) and blowing my 7900 gs (hit 800/1700 before it died at 1.7v) I was forced to get a new video card. I picked up a 512mb XFX 7950 GT for under $300 with 2 day shipping. I put my vf-900 on it and did a mild overclock to 650/800 giving me a 7900 GTX. Its "Very Nice!" as Borat would say. Lol


Meithan: There are monitors that support 2560x1600. The Dell 3007WFP 30 inch for example.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default

get this one i have the exact same one and i love it http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150150
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 02:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Amd gt player
get this one i have the exact same one and i love it http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150150
Get a card that is out of stock.... He should get a 7950 GT because the prices are similar to a 7900 GT but its a 7900 GTX core. There is a 512mb version made by EVGA ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130061 ) for $255 after a $15 mail in rebate.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 03:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

7950 GT's are the best value IMO. they perform really well, and are cheap as far as high end graphics cards go.

they can be voltmodded, too.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

What do you mean by auto overclock? Did it change anything about your system? The regular way to do it is go into Bios and start messing with the multipliers, FSB and whatever else you need to to make it stable.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 12:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by M733mhz
What do you mean by auto overclock? Did it change anything about your system? The regular way to do it is go into Bios and start messing with the multipliers, FSB and whatever else you need to to make it stable.
In my bios, my motherboard has the option to raise the operating frequentcy etc. as i put more stress on the proc, so in high demanding times such as say, Quake 4 or FEAR, my motherboard begins to move up in incriments until it sees a steadier flow. Then once my load or workload lessens it drops. Sort of an up and down effect.

Thank you all so much for the input, now it's simply a matter of the 7900 or 7950GT, i was interested in the 7900 considering that it was only a similar price difference(i believe someone said 70 dollars?) from buying another 7600GT.

I wanted to 'experiment' with SLi, not for performance reasons but, to see it for myself and make my own assesment. I know other computer users with 4 monitors on crossfire. insane.

btw: Meithan, ty for the info on partitioning my HD, I successfully split it into 3 partitions. Although i could not partition ubuntu on there so i will wait for another hard drive upgrade.

In terms of monitor specs, i think that the Max resolution on monitors(and my budget) will suffice, although, would the resolution apply to outside frequentcies. Such as a HD TV?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.