750GB of Seagate HDD - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 05:00 PM   #31 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Only 750 GB's?

pfft.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 05:26 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Yea, I agree. Who wants just a 750 when you can have the whole tomale! I'm gonna RAID 0 4 of those Lacies on my Kn8 Abit board and run 4 tera's in stripe mode!! Give me a break!!! ROFL!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:50 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default



Pushbutton back up system... lol whoa! 750GIG.

Bring your whole entire collection of absolutely everything to your buddys house... Don't forget to leave WITH IT IN HAND!
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 09:05 PM   #34 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sevoma
Yes, and 5 harddrives produce less heat
ah but if you put the 5 harddrives in raid 0 then you get super fast read speeds, and a lot of storage :-P
The General is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 10:33 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

I would take 1 750GB over 5 250GB HDDs in Raid anyday.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 02:43 AM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the general
ah but if you put the 5 harddrives in raid 0 then you get super fast read speeds, and a lot of storage :-P
Until one fails on you and then bye bye data...
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 03:06 AM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Beefcake
I would take 1 750GB over 5 250GB HDDs in Raid anyday.
weird, twice the data, more reliabilty, faster read speeds ... but i guess it takes all kinds

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
Until one fails on you and then bye bye data...
if your one 750gb drive fails, then its also all bye bye, so i dont know where you're going with this

with raid 5 you could lose one drive and restore all the information
the solution is this: 5 250gb in raid 5 = around 1TB

lose one drive, you're good, lose 2 drives at once, its all gone.
i think thats a lot better than putting all your eggs in one basket
The General is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 04:38 AM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the general
weird, twice the data, more reliabilty, faster read speeds ... but i guess it takes all kinds



if your one 750gb drive fails, then its also all bye bye, so i dont know where you're going with this

with raid 5 you could lose one drive and restore all the information
the solution is this: 5 250gb in raid 5 = around 1TB

lose one drive, you're good, lose 2 drives at once, its all gone.
i think thats a lot better than putting all your eggs in one basket
more drives = higher chance of one failing

Quote:
Originally posted by the gaara
Mind you this thing probably ends up formatting out to like ~650GB
it ends up being 698.62689971923828125GB
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 11:25 AM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
more drives = higher chance of one failing
That, and the noise, space, and power. Now instead of managing the cables to one HDD your going to have to manage 5 of them. Then you have to power all of them with enough cables. I also think they would generate more heat then 1 or 2 HDDs. Just buy 2 500GB if you need 1 TB. My single 250GB is plenty enough for me.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 12:21 PM   #40 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by the general
with raid 5 you could lose one drive and restore all the information
the solution is this: 5 250gb in raid 5 = around 1TB

lose one drive, you're good, lose 2 drives at once, its all gone.
i think thats a lot better than putting all your eggs in one basket
5 hdd in RAID 0 means 5x times more likley to fail. RAID5 = sloooooooow.

698GB of useable space, a TV card and FRAPS unlocked and I will be set.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.