£700 budget - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2005, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default £700 budget

Gonna get a new system in the next few weeks and this is what I was thinking about getting.

MOTHERBOARD
DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D PCI-E (Socket 939)
http://www.tekheads.co.uk/s/product?product=604023
£100 inc delivery
(may buy from US ebay site as they go for around £70-80 NEW delivery included)

CPU
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ Socket 939 1MB Inc Fan
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...147,4294959319
£165 inc delivery

MEMORY
Corsair Value select 1GB kit (512x2) PC3200
£59 inc shipping ebay.co.uk NEW

CASE
Antec SLK3000B Black Super Mid Tower
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...+Mid+Tower&v=2
£35 inc shipping

DVD DRIVE
NEC ND-4550 16x DVD±RW/RAM Double Layer Internal IDE (Black) - OEM
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=97315
£35 inc delivery

VIDEO CARD
EVGA GeForce 7800 GT 256MB
£224 inc shipping US ebay (must but from ebay as no where else to get EVGA from in the UK)

PSU
Antec TruePower 550 12V AC 550W ATX
http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...C+550W+ATX&v=2
£58 inc delivery

Total £656

I have all the rest (moniter, HD etc). Can u guys make sure this is all compatible especially the PSU as I really do not know much about them
__________________

weringo is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You need a 24 pin PSU for antec it is the 2.0 ones.

Apart from that it is all compatible, but just to add, get a hiper type r 580w, they are £65, fully modular and it already has the cables allreadym sleeved. (they are 24pin as well.)

Just a little comment, I was tempted to get hardware from the US, but I found that if it goes wrong, you will not have a easy time returning it. Also beware of ebay, as I like my warranties with the company I brought it from.


Is the ram PC3200?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 04:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Yeh the RAM is PC3200, I have had quite a lot of experiance with ebay and I find that usually I am satisfied if I buy from a trusted seller e.g. 1000+ feedback.

I may reconsider buying that motherboard from the US but I definately want to buy the EVGA card. Everyone on these forums rates EVGA so highly compared to the other companies. If its really neccessary I can just get the BFG 7800 gt from overclockers.co.uk for a slightly higher price.
weringo is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

I found the power supply you were talking about
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Hiper.html
Is it possible you could recommend a cheaper PSU as this one is a lot higher than I was hoping to spend on a PSU (£74 inc delivery). I need one over 400W and under £60 inc delivery, preflebly around £50.

Why is it so neccessary that i must spend this much on a PSU? Won't a cheap one for £30 do the job fine?
weringo is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Its not neccessary, its just I had a few parts go in a short amount of time, was literally one after the other. I wouldn't like to have to go through another country for returns, and would hate to go thrugh ebay, but its up to you where you get it from, you are more likley to not have a single problem. eVGA is a good manufacturer and have very few returns. Unlike XFX.


Cheap PSU's are not reliable, don't supply enough amps on the 12v for high end systems, and have early deaths, and when they do, they will likley take out hardware, it is not worth it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

Will this power supply be ok? Antec TruePower 2.0 430W PSU (CA-030-AN)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...Antec_103.html
(2nd from bottom)
__________________

weringo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.