$7,500 budget - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2006, 12:16 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Thx for laughing at me,
ibuypower.com is great, thx all for the tips
__________________

Rich_Newbie is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 12:58 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

I'd suggest spending around 3-4K on a computer with the best processor, good ram, and graphics card. Then put the other 3.5-4.5K in savings and just upgrade the computer with new technology. The processor and ram you get would still be plenty of power down the road but video cards get outdated quickly and would need to be upgraded every 6-12 months to stay on top of things.
There ya go...if you want to spend the extra $4,000 on parts that will be outdated in a year then go ahead, it's just not a good idea.

Quote:
Originally posted by Rich_Newbie
Intel Core 2 Extreme Processor X6800 (2x 2.93GHz/4MB L2 Cache/1066FSB)

Asus P5N32-SLI Premium and WiFi-AP nForce 590 SLI x16 Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, IEEE-1394 Dual PCI-E MB or NVIDIA GeForce 680i Chipset w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0 Dual PCI-E MB

2048MB [1024MB X2] DDR2-800 PC6400 Memory Module

2x NVIDIA 8800GTX 768MB

2x WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 16M Cache Hard Drive w/Raid-0 [Data Striping]

2x [Lightscribe Technology] 16X Dual Format/Double Layer DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive

about 4500 well below my budget what ya guys think?
i didn't see this when i posted before. this would be good to get if you want the very best of the best, but with two 8800's that'd be more than you'd be able to use (1 should be fine) and by the time you can use both efficiently there'll be something better out there anyways.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 01:03 PM   #33 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Spend around $2500 on the actual computer (plus a bit more as you are not building.) Any more is wasted money.

For monitors go for 3x 19" LCD's plus the Matrox TripleHead2Go. Cheaper and more immersing than a Dell 30".
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 02:48 PM   #34 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

have you tried cyberpowerpc.com?
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 03:04 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

try this http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/infkoc2d.asp?v=d
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 03:06 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

whatever you do, do NOT get water cooling if you know nothing about building and running a water cooling loop. it'll totally mess you up when you try to upgrade, stick to air or do some research. www.xtremesystems.org is probably the best forum for any type of cooling. IMO $7k is a rediculous amount to spend on a computer, you can get the best of the best for what 3-4k?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:33 PM   #37 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default

To be honest cut out one of the 8800's. Seriously. Is there a game out there right now this second that requires 2?

Buy stuff as you need it. You just really need to buy an upgradeable rig.

Keep everything. You can lose one of the 8800's. And get the new Core 2 Extreme thats like 1200 $. After the 7900, video cards dont help out that much. I'd prefer to just get a fast CPU.
Dunno. That's just me.

But remember you can never have the best of the best. The 8800's have just came out. The r6's are bound to come out in a few months.
andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:36 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rich_Newbie
i've browsed alienware quite a bit and been told they are very over priced. anyone have a website where i can custimize an order for a pre-built pc. and whats better for gaming as far as cpu's Intell or AMD?

ok i see that youve moved on... alienware is overpriced but they still look sweet! look at my rig in my sig .... i bought that for 1300 back in last may..... yeah .... not the best but im happy because i got that case!!!! YAYYY! but i will be getting a new rig soon and dropping that stuff into a rig for my bro to play 3rd grade reader rabbit!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:38 PM   #39 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

okay : 1 8800gtx, Core 2 extreme 6800, 4gb ram, windows vista home premium, 1 150gig raptor, 1 320gig for storage (or whatever the prebuild company has similar), couple of dvd burning drives and you are ready to roll.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:46 PM   #40 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Can vista use 4gb ram effectively?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.