6gb's common question i may be dumb lol. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2013, 10:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

Can i use a 3gb's on a 6gb's
__________________

__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

Huh?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

Erm, gonna need to be a bit more clear on what you're talking about..
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

If i have a 1.5 or 3 gb's sata port can i use it on a 6gb's
__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

So, to be clear, you're asking if you can use a SATA HDD that's 6gbps (SATA III) in a 1.5 (SATA I) or 3 gbps (SATA II) port?

Yes, you should be able to. It will just run at the bandwidth of the port.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

What about vice versa
__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 405
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xMalcom View Post
What about vice versa
Same thing. It will only perform at the speed of the slowest component.
DistraughtSysop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
xMalcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 407
Send a message via AIM to xMalcom Send a message via Skype™ to xMalcom
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

Danke!
__________________
xMalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: 6gb's common question i may be dumb lol.

HDD's aren't limited in SATA2 ports, to be clear.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.