680i LT sound problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2008, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default 680i LT sound problem...

Alright so when i first ordered all my stuff for my pc i got the 680i LT (open box), and it dosnt have onboard audio so i thought i could just go and buy an audio card and i would have audio. So i went out and bought a audio card and installed it but i still had no sound, it wouldnt work, i was wondering cuase the sound card had all kinds of pluges on it but i wasnt sure if anything would need pluged in it. Im wanting to get audio working on it so my dad can use that mobo so his gt will run at full speed on a pcie 2.0 slot.
So anyne know how i could get audio workin on it?...
thx
also i can post a pic of the audio card if needed....
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

Post pics. What audio system is this? What sound card?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

Its the Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE, i have also tried 2 other sound cards but nothing...
http://pan.fotovista.com/dev/8/1/030...l_03090018.jpg
__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 02:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 466
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

this might seem obvious but try it in a different pci slot

EDIT Also your 680i LT should have onboard sound
__________________


Thermaltake Armor
680i LT
q6600 (g0 revision)
736 mb EVGA 8800 GTX
2 gb crucial tracers
500 gb seagate 7200.11
TRUE 120
PC Power & Cooling 610
and a run of the mill DVD drive
heister is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 04:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

All motherboards should have onboard sound. If you see alot of colored inputs, that are clustered at the back of the computer, that's the onboard sound.

Question, did you install the sound card's driver?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

The board i got isnt the LT(my bad) its just the 680i and it was supposed to come with a sound card but i got the open box one so it didnt come with the sound card so it dont have no sound at all, theres no onboard audio, it has to be a card, i have installed all the drivers and everything, i have also made sure it was enabled and everything it just didnt work.
__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

I don't see how it cannot have onboard sound.

Are you saying that you don't have something like what's on the bottom of the pic, on your motherboard?...
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 10:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

yup there is no onboard audio jacks...
its alright though cuase i think im just gonna sell it..
__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 10:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertWolf01 View Post
yup there is no onboard audio jacks...
its alright though cuase i think im just gonna sell it..
Problem with that is...if they find out they won't have any audio...they'll be less likely to buy it =P.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 03-08-2008, 10:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 71
Default Re: 680i LT sound problem...

They could prolly call Asus and get the card that was supposed to come with it. but i dont have the money to do that now.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Rig:
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 at 3.2ghz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
XFX Radeon HD 5770
WD 360gb WD 160gb WD 80gb Seagate 40gb
2x 1gb G.Skill Ram 800mhz & 2x 1gb OCZ 800mhz(4gb total)
CPU h/s Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
DesertWolf01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound card problem, sound cuts out grambam Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-27-2007 04:40 PM
Sound problem. smileii Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-04-2007 03:43 PM
Playing in Surround Sound Cunjo Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-01-2007 02:12 PM
Sound card vs. Integrated sound on p35-ds3r MOBO OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-16-2007 01:32 PM
Sound Card = owned? Fireheart Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-12-2007 02:29 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.