6800GT vs ATI 9800 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2005, 06:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Quote:
if he has no money and he is ok playing on low settings then return it. or you could just return it and get like a 6800GS which is only 100 dollars more when it DOES come out in AGP if it will EVER come out in AGP
It wont come out on AGP. In February the 7800GS will come out specificaly for AGP.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-20-2005, 06:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i thought the 7800GS was a mistake, i read a post by trotter that he said it leaked out to some people just kill agp.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 12:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Congratulations, cronie - you saved yourself quite a bit of money! You're lucky to be able to settle for less.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 03:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

I wish i could settle for less, i would have A lots more money or B more money to spend on other things i want. It seems that my car is taking more money than my PC is though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-21-2005, 06:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

hl2 doesn't need powerfull gpu to max it out, i run it on 1024x768 with highest setting and with 2xAA and 4xAF and runs smooth.

i have 6600(not gt) overclocked from 300/500 to 338/538.

so i think my 6600 is better than 9800, and also 6600 is a good overclocker because i can overclock my gpu to 350/600
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.