6800GS Vs. X850XT ? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2006, 06:12 PM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

b/c of this, ive decided to get the 6800gs. originally i was going to get an x800 or something, but everyone seems to haet their drivers and cards. will you guys explain how to OC a videocard, specifically the 6800gs? i know how to OC a proc, but not a videocard.
__________________

supernw390 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 08:42 PM   #42 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default

Your software CD that comes with the card should have the program "Coolbits" on it. Install that, and there will be a 'clock frequency' setting in your Nvidia display menu. This is where you overclock.

There's also a program called 'Rivatuner', doesn't matter which one you use, they both do the same thing.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:56 PM   #43 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default

ok thank you
supernw390 is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 10:40 PM   #44 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

Or you could DL Coolbits2.0 from www.downloads.guru3d.com Its the same thing but all well its newer
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 11:57 PM   #45 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

I'm still curious what's so bad about ATI's drivers? Everyone keeps saying sometihng is wrong but no one will back that up with some examples. And if that's the case you'd think the Omega Drivers would fix whatever was holding the stock ATI drivers back.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:25 AM   #46 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've got a ATI X800XT PE and overall i'm extremely happy with it's performance. It's lasted me over a year now and it still is holding up very well against all the newest games.

But, if i was buying a new card right now, I'd go with something that supports SM3. Even though my card is fast and tough... the jagged edges in soft shadows always make me wish my card supported SM3.

Even though I love this card, I'd suggest the 6800GS.

ALSO: As much as i like most of these guys, tech-forum members are a bunch of NVIDIA & AMD fan boys... lol oh boy.. here it comes.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 12:31 AM   #47 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

I may be an Nvidia fanboy but i run ATI cards in some of my systems and if they have the better card i will say it. Also i just traded an AMD mobo/processor for an Intel mobo/processor.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 01:20 AM   #48 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Also i just traded an AMD mobo/processor for an Intel mobo/processor.
WHAT?! Why would you commit such a sinister act?
Flanker is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 02:17 AM   #49 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default

Because i was upgrading a friend and it was only my internet machine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 02:21 AM   #50 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Anything to help a friend, even that...*holds down bile.*

I'm just kidding.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.