6800gs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-20-2005, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default 6800gs?

ive heard about it it seems like a goos card clocked at 425/100 and 12 pixel pipeline and the evga only costs about 200$ the 6800Gt only has 4 more pixel pipelines and is clocked at 350/100. and finally does the 6800GS support Shader model 3?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 07:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Yes I believe it does. Without those 4 pipelines, it is still overclockable much further than the 6800gt and just owns the GT and the Ultra.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

do you think this card could run ut2007?
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

from the rumors i heard from beed, that you need 6800ultra in SLI, i say no but you may be able to run it in ultra low lol

how many threads do you need to make geez lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

im new makin alot of threads to find out stuff cause im too lazy to just look on hardware sites and such
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 07:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
from the rumors i heard from beed, that you need 6800ultra in SLI, i say no but you may be able to run it in ultra low lol

how many threads do you need to make geez lol
Those rumors are false, they were posted on the atari forums, and war_tourist (epic producer) replied and said that they were totally made up, and locked the thread. the thread was deleted shortly afterwords.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-20-2005, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The rumours of future gaming engines needing to use SLI is complete and utter rubbish...SLI makes up a small portion of the market and is not optimized nor supported very well at all

Furthermore, why would a game designer willingly go out of their way to lose millions in revenue to build a game that cannot run on the majority of peoples systems...look at recent valve hardware surverys, most people still use the 9800pro or below
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.