6800GS with 16 pipes? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2006, 02:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default 6800GS with 16 pipes?

i was looking around newegg for an answer to a post and found this albatron 6800GS and it says it has 16 pipes. this might be justa typing error but check it out.

LINK!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814170094
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 02:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

That's weird. It doesn't even list the Pipes on the manufacturer site.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 03:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Only the model has "GS" in the name. Its actually just a regular 6800.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 03:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

But what would a vanilla 6800 be doing w/ 16 pipes?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 01-21-2006, 03:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

I have no idea. :classic: I guess its the same problem, eh?
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Buy it now then find out it doesnt have the 16 pipes then fight to get your money back because you thought it has 16 pipes, when it really has only 12.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That's impossible
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-21-2006, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

It has 12 pipes, the same thing happened with the BFG 6800gs. There was a typo in the description and it was changed a week later (and the price was also raised 30 dollars).
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.