6800 gs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default 6800 gs

will the 6800 gs work with a AGP x4 motherboard? and if it does will it make a difference if i get a agp x8?
__________________

__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

good question. no one ever answered to me either. I was wondering how much video card an AGP 4x slot could take without being crippled by the limited bandwidth.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

i used to use an 8x card in a 4x slot, i didnt notice a difference
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I know... I guess you didn't quite get my meaning.

AGP 4x is does not have as much bandwidth AGP 8x. I wanted to know, if at all, which cards needed more bandwidth than AGP 4x could offer.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

The high end cards id say from 9800XT to X850XTPE and 5900ultra to 6800ultra. Other than that i dont think it matters much because i saw absolutely NO difference in performance when i changed to 8x on my 5600ultra.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

oh ok, yeah i didnt understand what you were saying at first.
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 121
Default

I noticed that my 6600 gt agp was being bottlenecked on my old mobo
__________________
GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Motherboard
NZXT Apollo Black ATX Mid tower Case
AMD Phenom II X6 1055t @ 3.8 GHZ
Rosewill RCX-Z1 CPU heatsink
Sapphire TOXIC Edition Radeon HD 5850 1GB @ 800/1175
2 x 2GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 240-Pin DDR3 1600mhz
G.Skill Sniper SSD 60gb x2 RAID 0
BFG Tech GS-550 550W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V V2.8 SLI PSU
new.puree is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

ohh so you guys think its alright if i get a 6800 gs with my agpx4 motherboard?
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

No.

6800GS is a very high demanding card, aside from needing a good power supply you also need a good motherboard with full link bandwidth. AGP8x basically. For lower end cards like the FX series, the Geforce Ti series, and the Radeon 9600 and below, I think a AGP4x link would be fine.

How the **** do you play BF2 on high settings?
septoid2 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

I think hes prolly lieing about his setup. After all hes talking about a 6800GS.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.