6600GT / 300watts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2006, 12:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default 6600GT / 300watts

will the 6600gt last like 2 months with a 300 watt psu?
the 6600gt requires a 350w min.


quest1on is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

I wouldn't deprive electronics eletricity. Up to you, just my .02

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396

wah? .. do u guys think the 300watt wont blow after 2 months?

quest1on is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 01:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 145

I wouldn't even attempt it.
AMD X2 4400+ @ 2.5Ghz | ASUS A8N-SLI | 2GB Corsair XMS DDR400 [SIZE=\"1\"](2-3-3-6)[/SIZE] | eVGA GeForce 7900GT [SIZE=\"1\"](500/1500)[/SIZE] | 1TB of SATA harddrives | SB X-Fi | Antec TruePower2.0 550W
synth7 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396

is this psu good for the 6600gt?

quest1on is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

Should be no reason it won't unless you added extra HDs, Fans, Etc to an extrme level.
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 02:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738

Ewww thats a really bad psu. Try getting something like this. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104953
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 05:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506

Originally posted by quest1on
wah? .. do u guys think the 300watt wont blow after 2 months?
It wont blow up. It just wont run properly. You'll have random restarts. Bad performance in games. **** it might not even boot up with that low of a psu. And don't go cheap with a new psu. Or else you'll end up with the same problem you have now.

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.