6600 or x700?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2005, 05:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Satan666
Question 6600 or x700??

Which would you guys consider the best for gaming???

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...502&pfp=SEARCH

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...524&pfp=SEARCH
__________________

Satan666 is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

i couldn't find the two cards tested in the AGP version, But i did find them tested in their PCI express version.

It would appear that the 6600gt is the better choice.

click here to see tests
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 01:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

The above card listed is a 6600, not a 6600gt. If you had a $200 budget I would buy this card. I will find some benchmarks for you.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130202
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

if you get the 6800 you have a chance of unlocking the 4 additional pipelines and one vertex shader which will give a performance increase. but the 128MB of ram is holding it back to reach 6800GT speeds. i would say 200 dollars either the 6600GT or 6800 if you like to do some softmodding
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...705/index.html

heres the agp testing, no x700 for some reason?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

I thought it was the 6800LE that you could unlock pipes not 6800
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Satan666
Default

seems like the x700pro is better then the 6600, and i cant get the card from newegg because my dad wont let me use the credit card, to paranoid thats why haha. So ill just get the x700.

Thank you everyone for helping me out. =)
Satan666 is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 05:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Satan666
seems like the x700pro is better then the 6600, and i cant get the card from newegg because my dad wont let me use the credit card, to paranoid thats why haha. So ill just get the x700.

Thank you everyone for helping me out. =)
What? Did you not look at the benchmarks? The 6600GT kills the x700. Buying the x700 is a VERY bad decision.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 05:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

x700 may be able to run HL2 and some BF2, and that will be about it. You can take away FEAR and STALKER for sure...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 07:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

You would be better off with this if u must buy from comp usa:

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...647&pfp=SEARCH


Argh I hate when they dont listen....
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.