65bit VS 32bit in the real world - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2005, 06:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Question 65bit VS 32bit in the real world

Okay...

I'm looking to upgrade my PC from an old P4 system (like seriously old, I'm talking 1.6GHz here) to a newer system.

Now, I see all this hype about 64bit processors like the AMD64 etc, and how amazing they are when running 64bit applications. Yet, when I look at the specs, it says that the AMD64's run at like 2.0GHz or something...

So, when it comes to running games (the majority of which don't have 64bit versions), say I wanted to run HL² for instance, what would work better...

A 2.0GHz AMD64, or a 3Ghz P4 (32bit)? They cost about the same from where I'm standing, so I'm wondering which would be a better choice for me.
__________________

slash_2_2000 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 06:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default Re: 65bit VS 32bit in the real world

Quote:
Originally posted by slash_2_2000

A 2.0GHz AMD64, or a 3Ghz P4 (32bit)? They cost about the same from where I'm standing, so I'm wondering which would be a better choice for me.
You correct in think 64bit VS 32bit dont matter. That being said AMD is a different arctecture then intel and am not talking about 64bit vs 32bit. This means AMD can perform alot better then intel with lower clock speeds.

As for the gaming question AMD been better when it comes to gameing for a long time now. I would go with AMD if it for a gaming machine. AMD benfits majorly from shorter pipelines, built in memory controller, hypertransport.
__________________

mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 07:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i dont know if the 64biyt really makes a difference at the moment but if you want a new processor you have to go with 64 bit basicly because there isnt many other options. Athlon 64 processors are very fast and very efficient and they are 64 bit. I dont know if they are good because of the 64 bittiness but its always a good thing.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 07:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Yeah, but I'm wondering more about the actual performance in relation to a 32bit, in the real world...

E.g. if I load up HL² with an AMD64 2.0GHz, will it load faster than if I was loading it on a P4 3.0Ghz (32bit), despite the lower clock speed?

Basically, I want speed. Mmm... speed...
slash_2_2000 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 08:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 31
Send a message via Yahoo to kingcorona1212
Default

HELLOOOO have you people not heard of the new windows x64 edition ???? Windows just released the new windows edition and its 64 BIT!!! basically the colors are brighter and more vibrant and it just looks well.... AMAZING!!!!!!!!
kingcorona1212 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 08:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slash_2_2000
E.g. if I load up HL² with an AMD64 2.0GHz, will it load faster than if I was loading it on a P4 3.0Ghz (32bit), despite the lower clock speed?
Load time proberly more harddrive/ram bound. Acturally playing the game thoe you will get more fps with the amd then the intel.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 08:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kingcorona1212
HELLOOOO have you people not heard of the new windows x64 edition ???? Windows just released the new windows edition and its 64 BIT!!! basically the colors are brighter and more vibrant and it just looks well.... AMAZING!!!!!!!!
AM waiting for the 64bit version of visita before I go 64 bit.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 10:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by slash_2_2000
Yeah, but I'm wondering more about the actual performance in relation to a 32bit, in the real world...

E.g. if I load up HL² with an AMD64 2.0GHz, will it load faster than if I was loading it on a P4 3.0Ghz (32bit), despite the lower clock speed?

Basically, I want speed. Mmm... speed...
Loadup time really depends on the harddrive.

AMD's will run HL2 alot better than Intel chips. 64 bit has nothing to do with this.

When we do switch over to 64 bit, we can take advantage of an almost doubble peformance boost. If you do decide the Intel route, I also recomend the few extra dollars for a 64 bit Intel chip, so you can run newer operating systems in the future.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 11:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kingcorona1212
HELLOOOO have you people not heard of the new windows x64 edition ???? Windows just released the new windows edition and its 64 BIT!!! basically the colors are brighter and more vibrant and it just looks well.... AMAZING!!!!!!!!
What the hell are you talking about? 64-bit doesn't make your screen brighter! There are controls on your monitor for that.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 01:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 994
Send a message via AIM to PoisonPorkchop
Default

Well the general comparison is, if its an AMD athlon 3200, it will compare to a 3.2 GHZ intel. if its a 2800, its a 2.8 GHZ. if its a 4400, well, i guess you could say its a 4.4 GHZ although, I dont think intel has such a monster yet...
__________________

__________________
System
Antec Super Lanboy
AMD 64 3800 S-939 Newcastle
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum
eVGA 6600GT
1.5 GB pc 3200
WD 160 GB IDE
Viewsonic 22\" Widescreen 1680x1050
Logitech MX518
Coming Soon: Athlon 64 4000 San Diego/Z-5500/G7/Vista
PoisonPorkchop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.