64 bit monitor compatibility - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2006, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default 64 bit monitor compatibility

alright got my new comp put together (still waitin for my ram from newegg) and now its time for a monitor, does it have to be compatible with my os (win64x pro)? and 1 more nub question for you guys, this might be off topic but should i wait a couple of days after i install all my drivers before i OC, or is it best to OC right away?
LCDwide
__________________

__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

You will find most modern drivers support the OS no problem. But yes it would be a good idea.

OC whenever you wish but keep a eye on those temps.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 05:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default

cool, my system should be set (ive already bookmarked all my 64x drivers for my gpu,hdd,cd-rom,mobo/chipset/soundcard) i had no idea about monitor support.
no worries bout OC ive read and bookmarked all the OC guides here. and plan on following them while i OC!

edit: i also plan on posting here while i OC as well just because its my first build and first OC.
__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

i would do a good burn-in before OCing. you can download various programs that put the cpu at 100% load (like Prime95...recommended).... this allows the CPU to run at max temp to let the thermal paste set in and if there's anything wrong with the CPU, you'll know BEFORE you OC and possibly damage things, eliminating any chances to RMA.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Don't get that monitor if you plan on gaming my friend.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 07:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default

i only play cs source, the monitor i have now is 25ms and runs fine,
the widescreen is 16ms (should be an improvement)?
i heard 8ms is recomended for gaming but how much of a difference is it really? also my optys heatsink came with a pad on the bottom of it, which i assumed was the same as the paste? am i mistaken?

edit: any 1 know what gray to gray means?
would it be worth it to upgrade to 19' wide clickMe for an additional 55 bones?
ty for all the replies too
__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Default

i'd say the viewsonic its bigger has better response time and i believe viewsonic has a pretty good reputation.
__________________
My \"tite\" sysytem:Compaq SR1020NX
Celeron 2.8GHz
Cheap generic mobo(MSI)
PNY Geforce fx5500 128 MB pci
512 MB pc2700 ddr ram
compaq case with generic 250 watt psu
http://www.userbars.com/galerie/imag...ron Maiden.jpg
wasd is offline  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Can't go wrong with Samsung.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

I have a 16ms moniter, and up untill I found out it was 16ms and looked for it not refreshing fast enough did I notice it. Ghosting wise I don't see any. But it really hurts when my fps is ~30 and the moniter refreshes in 'blocks'. Made playing KOTR I&II very painful eye/headache wise.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 12:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Default

my brother in law has been telling me to get samsung, he has two syncmaster152n dual display and they work great.
decided that widescreen is not that important and found this 17' 8ms samsung which dropped my total on newegg dramatically (i need foooooooooooood)
clickMe
other thoughts: wow samsung has some very expensive widescreens...
and ty for the replies again
__________________

__________________
system specs~
amd 165 opteron x2
evga 6600GT 256mb pci-e
2g corsair xms dual channel
asus a8n-e ultra atx
samsung 40g 7200rpm sata 3.0g/s
asus combo drive
antec true blue 480w psu
cheiftek ultra dragon full atx with (side window panel)
dRgreen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.