64 bit CPU's? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2007, 04:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

Sora im sorry man but a standard X86 system with a 64 chip isnt 64bit, you need the 64bit OS to utilize this fuction.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

I agree that the majority of the P4's made were not supported, but since this guy was putting together a "whole new build" I wasn't really thinking of really old chips. I was thinking more along the lines of just whats on todays market. I still won't disagree that the majority of the 25+ P4's ever made were not 64 bit.

Edit: I know this but i wrote that real fast kind of, I do know that you need a windows 64 bit OS to run it. The guy is talking to me like I'm a dummy about it so I'm just talking more along the lines of stuff he should already imply that I mean. I said earlier about not being sure if you could buy both the 64 bit or the 32 bit, which shows that I do know you need another OS for it. Like I said, i'm just going over this real fast
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
Once again I was refering to what you could buy today! I even said this once so read. The New P4's will support 64 bit. Also I haven't been to 3 other threads saying that the C2D wasn't 64 bit. This was the only one, and I admit I made a mistake.
1. This one
2. http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=141209 (You didn't say it here, but you had conflicting information)
3. http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=141266


Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
Also 64 bit is just a standard X86 OS system and chip with 64 bit architecture implemented, thus becoming X86-64. Once again you are trying to say I don't know what I'm talking about but I have suggested things for a while now on different sites and never have I suggested a build that when someone chose it, it was "bad".
You didn't answer my question at all. In fact, you shredded the truth badly. Just stop posting stupid lies like this. You don't know what you're talking about. All you do is spread lies around the forum and give people bad advice.

Now, before you post your psycho-babble about x86_64 and 64-bit architectures, go get an A+ certification like me, and read all of these articles:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/64-bit
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86-64
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Instruction_set
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X86
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer_bus

Then come and tell me that "64-bit means 64-bit" as you did above.

Quote:
Originally posted by Sora
So out of all the statements I said, I was wrong about the Core 2 Duos not supporting 64 bit becuase I double checked on newegg and clicked on a Core Duo, as they have the same color box as the C2D laptop. A fairly acceptable mistake. This being the only one I advise you to stop act like you know what you are talking about and that you are always right, as someone stated stop crying about it.
Who's crying about anything? You're a liar, and a poser wanna-be computer savvy nincompoop who knows catch-phrases and marketing ploys, and thinks that because you can say "x86-64" you must know everything.

Get over yourself.

EDIT: Wow, I'm arguing with someone who was born in the 90's.

What's next, you're going to argue with me about software, or do I need to bust out my certifications for that too? I don't talk about technical stuff that much, and yes I use a Mac, but that doesn't mean that some snotty nosed kid who knows that "The WOW starts now" knows more than me about anything.
The General is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Default

Hmmm, I guess I'm confused about the difference between Core 2's and Core Duo's.

I'm considering a Core 2 Duo E6600, so is that a 2 or a Duo?


My current cpu in my about-to-be-replaced system is a Pentium 4 2.6 ...I am assuming that does not support 64 bit?


>> It is one DVD that has both 32- and 64-bit on it, as long as you get the retail version.

If I were to buy that and install both 32 and 64 bit versions for dual boot, would I have to pay for 2 licenses? And speaking of buying, whenever I look online, everything I see is the OEM version. I assume this is a bad way to go, and I should get the full retail?
Gooch is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Lol in the first one I didint even mention 64 bit, the second i said the ai wasn't sure so get over it.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General


Now, before you post your psycho-babble about x86_64 and 64-bit architectures, go get an A+ certification like me, and read all of these articles:
dude an A+ is like pre-school i wouldnt brag about it, its what finger painting is to regular education.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:37 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gooch
I'm considering a Core 2 Duo E6600, so is that a 2 or a Duo?
The E6600 is a Core 2 Duo. They have stopped making Core Duo's, which were mostly for laptops/portables.

There is Core Duo, and Core 2 Duo. In chronological order.

Quote:
Originally posted by Gooch
My current cpu in my about-to-be-replaced system is a Pentium 4 2.6 ...I am assuming that does not support 64 bit?
Couldn't tell ya, depends on which one it is. If you run CPU-Z (an application, search Google) It will tell you which it is.

Quote:
Originally posted by Gooch
If I were to buy that and install both 32 and 64 bit versions for dual boot, would I have to pay for 2 licenses? And speaking of buying, whenever I look online, everything I see is the OEM version. I assume this is a bad way to go, and I should get the full retail?
That's a good question. I know you can only install it on one computer, but can you install it multiple times on one computer? I would think so.

It's up to you, which to get. I'd get the OEM because it's cheaper.
The General is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by King X13
dude an A+ is like pre-school i wouldnt brag about it, its what finger painting is to regular education.
Bragging?

I meant go get an A+ so you can have some sort of grasp on how hardware works.

It's not like I was like "d00d, I n0z eveything b3cause ! have an 4+ c3rt! it'5 t3h l33t3st cert out there!"
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.