64 bit CPU, 32 bit Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2006, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default 64 bit CPU, 32 bit Windows

will 32 bit windows really hamper the CPU? theres no way I'll pay for 64 bit xp with vista coming out soon, can I get a beta vista legally or something?
__________________

996_gt2 is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

How soon is Vista coming out? Xp x64 sucks anyway, a 64bit cpu will run fine on a 32bit OS.
__________________

__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

quikc question .. how do you know if you have a 64 bit os.....?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 303
Default

if it says windows professional x64 edition, yoyokid.

to ice: it's coming out this year, but noone knows when. My friend says near the end.

to 996: i don't think it will.... most people have 64 bit cpus and don't complain

edit: oh wait, no. It'll be fine.
__________________
Getting a new computer: specs coming soon...
KryptoKnight is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 07:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

thanks kypt... i dont have it than....lol
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 12:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 162
Default

Q: will 32 bit windows really hamper the CPU?
A: No, a 64bit processor can handle 64 bits so it will obviously run 32 :P

Q: How soon is Vista coming out?
A: No one knows for sure, but it is highly speculated to release in Q4 2006
EndofSanity is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 04:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 109
Default

OK, what is vista? I did a quick google serch on it and it seems like it's a media OS? Sounds like you guys are taliking about it to replace XP?
Shocker is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shocker
OK, what is vista? I did a quick google serch on it and it seems like it's a media OS? Sounds like you guys are taliking about it to replace XP?

It's the next Microsoft build. The next step up from Windows XP.
wireeater is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Yea, kind of like windows 95 to 98.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 02-09-2006, 04:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EndofSanity
a 64bit processor can handle 64 bits so it will obviously run 32
well, yeah. but I'm wondering if I'd be sacrificing speed when compared to a 64 bit OS
__________________

996_gt2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.