6200 Compared to FX Series - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2005, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default 6200 Compared to FX Series

Just curious, does the Geforce 6200 series beat out all of the FX series? I'm talking AGP8x here, not the pcie versions.
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Default

The FX 5950 Ultra definatley notches better benchmarks than the 6200. I think that a flashed 5900 Ultra will also outperform the 6200.

I seriously hope you are not thinking of buying any of these cards; the FX 5900 and 5950 GPUs are no longer manufactured by nVIDIA and the 6200 is Dell or Compaq material. Please don't attempt to play Doom 3 on the 6200.

And AGP has gone the way of Disco, Betamax, and Krispy Kreme Dougnuts

It's dead.

don't use it.
don't buy it.
don't sell it. Techno-newbies are NOT intended to serve as money dispensers.

Regards,
__________________

arandalle is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 12:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

I wasn't considering it, but I remember that topic I read where the person said they upgraded their FX 5500 card to a 6200, and I was curious as to why he would do that.

Look at my sig, i have a 6600GT for the love of God!!
septoid2 is offline  
Old 09-09-2005, 06:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Default

K good. just trying to help out noobs who might see.
arandalle is offline  
Old 09-10-2005, 04:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

The 6200 will outperform FX 5200's, 5500's, 5600's, 5700's and the god-forsaken 5800. The 5900's are faster than the 6200, but SERIOUSLY lack the feature set of the 6-series. the FX series doesn't do DirectX 9, the 6200 does. I would imagine the 6200 is about as fast as a 5900XT or a vanilla 5900.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 06:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

Uhhh im pretty sure the FX series DOSE do Direct X 9... Go do some research.
__________________

Tro1086 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.