600Watt Power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2005, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to sk84blind84 Send a message via Yahoo to sk84blind84
Question 600Watt Power supply?

Hey guys im looking into the OCZ 600w power supply right now, but its about 200....thats kinda a lot to spend on an PSU, and i think that many of you would agree...is there something else you guys would reccomment for cheaper?? im thinking that i may need a 500w PSU insead of the 600w though...any ideas?
__________________

sk84blind84 is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to otogrim
Default

You are looking into the powerstream, correct? Reason for the price is, you're able to adjust voltages. I personally don't think this is necessary unless you're a hardcore overclocker. If you're looking for a 600w psu i would suggest a seasonic its fairly priced and of very good quality. Hope that helps a bit.
__________________

otogrim is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 600Watt Power supply?

Quote:
Originally posted by sk84blind84
Hey guys im looking into the OCZ 600w power supply right now, but its about 200....thats kinda a lot to spend on an PSU, and i think that many of you would agree...is there something else you guys would reccomment for cheaper?? im thinking that i may need a 500w PSU insead of the 600w though...any ideas?
What Power supply you buy depends on your budget and what parts are in your build.

tell us your Budget and what parts itll have to power then i may make a good suggestion. 600Watts is probably overkill but i won't know till you give us more information.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

ok yeah 600 watt is not really needed so here is an antec truepowerII
550watt for 89bucks http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
if 600 watts if so important here is a good one from aspire
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148025
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Default

kind of expensive for a power supply
unless you will be using every last inch of the power
in all honesty i dont think you need to go THAT high in watts
CircuitBreaker is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to sk84blind84 Send a message via Yahoo to sk84blind84
Default Re: Re: 600Watt Power supply?

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
[B tell us your Budget and what parts itll have to power then i may make a good suggestion. 600Watts is probably overkill but i won't know till you give us more information. [/B]
Here is my basic set up:

CPU: AMD 4000+ San Diego
GPU: DUAL eVGA 7800GT (x2)
RAM: OCZ Platinum 2Gb
HDD: Western D 250 Gb, 16Mb cache, 7200RPM
MOBO: DFI Lanparty nF4 DR
Sound Card: Creative Sound blaster X-FI Platinum

If you guys have any changes, please feel free to tell me

**EDIT and atleast two optical drives**
sk84blind84 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

get a single 7800gt or you will pay twice the cost for under twice the performance and you will block what is otherwise a very good upgrade path in the future, if you really want more performance than a single 7800gt, then get a 7800gtx
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to sk84blind84 Send a message via Yahoo to sk84blind84
Default

ok...ill think about that cuz ive been hearing a lot about that too....i have one right now, and i dont plan on getting another just yet....what do you think about the PSU though?
sk84blind84 is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

get the antec neoHE 550W power supply from newegg. if you arent goign SLI you really dont need that great of a psu but just get an SLi ready one so if you do then you are prepared, but SLI is a bunch of mumble jumble waste of moeny
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 03:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to sk84blind84 Send a message via Yahoo to sk84blind84
Default

lol did you see my other post? "SLI a waste of $?" theres a LONG discussion about SLI on that post....
__________________

sk84blind84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.