5950 w/ DDR3? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2005, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default 5950 w/ DDR3?

Ok im confused. I thought these cards sucked because they didnt have DDR3 like the 6*** series? Will somebody please explain whats up w/ this? Heres 2 sites that says it has it and one is Ebay.
http://hardware.gamespot.com/PNY-Ver...56MB-268-S-9-9
http://cgi.ebay.com/nVidia-Geforce-F...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

RAM really doesn't matter when they have low clock speeds. But if you really want the best memory on a video card it GDDR3. I think.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Ram makes a considerate difference man. Im asking the guys who lived through this generation that might have owned one or w/e. i dont exactly see what was so bad about the FX series and im just trying to understand.
EDIT: Ill edit this saying i dont see what was so bad about the HIGHER END FX series cards lol. I know the FX5500 and such suck.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The 5950 does not have GDDR3.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 10:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

I didnt say GDDR3 i said DDR3. Difference.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

I think GDDR3 and DDR3 are the same thing...
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-17-2005, 11:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

idk about that because the G has to mean something. Also alot of sites are saying it has DDR3. Maybe im not reading the sites right?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 01:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The FX series sucked, I try to forget about it. Games are still made with "DX8 paths" just because FX series cards were so bad at DX9 rendering that people who still have FX cards must play in DX8. Half Life 2 wont even run in DX9 on an FX card! The FX series is Nvidia's equivalent of ATI's X800 Pro series. They sucked so bad they aren't worth mentioning.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 09:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Was the 5950 not an overheating dying card that disappeared from the market right after its release?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 04:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
The FX series sucked, I try to forget about it. Games are still made with "DX8 paths" just because FX series cards were so bad at DX9 rendering that people who still have FX cards must play in DX8. Half Life 2 wont even run in DX9 on an FX card! The FX series is Nvidia's equivalent of ATI's X800 Pro series. They sucked so bad they aren't worth mentioning.
HL2 Defaults to 8.1 for FX cards but will run at 9.0 if told to do so
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.