55nm vs 65nm core 216 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2009, 01:40 PM   #31 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

Since they are like $400 each. Doesn't seem like such a bad idea anymore.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:04 PM   #32 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

try 315-340 in the us!!! lol
__________________

NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:08 PM   #33 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

So from what I have glanced at the 55nm 260's are equal as they have rubbish stock coolers but with the more expensive versions with better air cooling or watercooling it is worth it? I will be watercooling so will overclock a bit
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:09 PM   #34 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

i know what your talking about with being fed up with your card. same thing happened with my x1900xtx. the drivers just sucked. and not to mention my card had to be rma'ed like 2 times before i got a half way decent one. lol
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:11 PM   #35 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

yaaa.. i'm sick of my single gtx 280... tri sli here we go.. lol
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:27 PM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

i'll take the GTX 280 off your hands if you want you can just ship it to my house
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 03:39 PM   #37 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

oh no.. thats why i'm buying 2 more.. lol

i'm skipping SLi.. because i know i'll get sick of that... so lets go 3 way.. lol
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:10 PM   #38 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

mmmm, yes 3 way does sound fun. i wish i had a 790i but i was the one that wanted ddr3 support for under $200. man if i could trade my board for a 790i i would in a heart beat.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:22 PM   #39 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 64
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

Naga you should just xfire your 4870 1GB.
Inserity is offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 04:26 PM   #40 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 55nm vs 65nm core 216

nvm I have read several reviews the 55nm offers nothing just replaces the 65nm that 260 owners currently have even when overclocking there is an inbuilt inhibitor of some kind damnnabbit
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 260 core 216 worth it to upgrade? 8800 GTX comparison Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 86 12-04-2008 09:09 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
Is AMD’s 65nm SOI process broken? Kharn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-21-2007 01:29 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Fellow Geeks.. MrCoffee New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-06-2007 05:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.