Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2007, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

The title says it
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

Depending on how many AMPs it has. I would say any PSU with an AMP rating of 35+ would do fairly well.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

Amp rating on the 12V, most important part.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
`Sn!pe651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Right nea da beach
Posts: 104
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

you'll be fine, i just hope your choice is Antec.
__________________
When Chuck Norris jumps into the ocean he doesnt get wet.. the ocean gets Chuck Norrised.
`Sn!pe651 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by `Sn!pe651 View Post
you'll be fine, i just hope your choice is Antec.
Well there are other brands that are better and cheaper then Antec. Corsair, Xclio, and FPS.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 01:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

dont forget pc power and cooling
best on the market
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 01:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

The PSU is called Thermaltake W0102RE

You can see the spec of the PSU from this Russian website
Translated version of http://http/

Translated it from Russian to English using google
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 02:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

If I see correctly, it has a combined 29A on it's +12v rails. That might be pushing it, if you plan on overclocking.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is 550W PSU enough for 8800GTS and Q6600 build ?

well.. i can't read that site.. its giving me cannot find server, but i'll take b1gapl's word for it that its a 29a on the +12V, but i can seriously tell you... thats pushing it man, time to look into a PC power and cooling 610..
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build questions.... veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 20 06-25-2007 12:24 AM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.