550W, 650W or 750W ? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2006, 08:07 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mentali$T
lol we could talk about this for ages im just saying that 580W is going to best for him because cards coming out in the future like directX10 cards will need more power so thats why.
And how do you know that? If you hadn't noticed cards are using less power then their predecessors (with an exception to the X1900s). The 7900s use less power the 7800s because they use 90nm sized die vs. 110nm. You need at least 22 amps to run a 7900 GTX (7800 GTX required 26 amps).

http://www.guru3d.com/article/content/325/3/

They said that 350W would be minimum to run the thing, but said anything over 420W would be fine.

500W> Is more then enough to power a single card system.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:15 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

And how much would I need if I did decide to try Crossfire / SLI ?
__________________

SWCheetah is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:17 AM   #23 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SWCheetah
Will it come with all the cables I need if I choose the Hiper one?
Yeah it comes with everything you need plus a load of sata cables and things.

Ok beefcake they may well do but they are all directx 9 cards so they have made them use less power. directx10 cards MIGHT use more power i dont know (nor does anyone here)
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:22 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

For crossfire you need a Crossfire edition card and then any other card compatible with crossfire. It is cheaper than SLi cos u can use 2 diferent cards. Crossfire edition cards are usually slightly more expensive than the standard card. This has all you need to know about crossfire:

http://www.ati.com/technology/crossfire/faq.html
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:22 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the silverstone PSU has quad 12V rails. I don't really like it when they split the 12V into multiple rails. IMO it's best if you have one strong 12V rail

*edit*
crossfire can be a bit of a hassle though, you have to get a master and slave card. with SLI, it's either compatible or it isn't. it's easy that way.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:22 AM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Okay, so the Hiper 580W or the Silverstone 650W? I don't know which one to choose... :S

Like I said, if the Silverstone one has a higher output, why are they the same price? Is the Hiper one better some way or am I just paying extra for the novelty of having a modular PSU?

And will the Hiper one have enough outputs to power my graphics card, motherboard, fans, drives, &c..? I'll have three or four drives (one SATA), five fans (six including the CPU one), the motherboard and graphics card. Will the Hiper PSU have enough outputs for all of them (I know half of the fans will plug into the motherboard anyway)..?
SWCheetah is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:23 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

out of the Hiper and silverstone, the Hiper looks like a better one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:27 AM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse

*edit*
crossfire can be a bit of a hassle though, you have to get a master and slave card. with SLI, it's either compatible or it isn't. it's easy that way.
Not really because you can pick up 2 cards at different times. they can have different clock speeds and sli you have to buy both at the same time so u dont get different cards which makes it more expensive.

The hiper will have enough outputs it has 12 outputs. this doesnt mean you can only have 12 things connected to each other because you use the 4 pin connectors to add more.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:28 AM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

You're right, this Hiper one looks really good.
I've made up my mind, I'll go for that one, if you guys think it'll stand even when I've OCd my GPU/CPU. Is that right?

But yeah, the Hiper one seems adequate, plus it looks cool and comes with that handy toolbox!
SWCheetah is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:29 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol good choice
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.