550W, 650W or 750W ? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2006, 06:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

MSY is probabbly the cheapest computer store I know here. though there is also these places:
www.cpl.net.au
www.pccasegear.com.au
www.scorptec.com.au - (this place is usually more expensive though)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

I got my graphics card from scorptec, it was the best deal I could find... Maybe I was mistaken? Oh well...

The Hiper PSU is for sale at www.nintek.com.au, I've seen it, but is 580W really enough?

I feel as though I should really go for a 650W PSU but I'm really unsure. PSUs are probably the computer part that I know the least about... :S

fixed URL (had the comma in it)
__________________

SWCheetah is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I think it will be enough. You havent got 2 cards running together so it will be fine. If you will be using crossfire then maybe go for a 650W. My mate has the Hiper 580W aswell as me and he uses crossfire, he says its very stable. This is also a good make of PSU so it wont die on you.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SWCheetah
I got my graphics card from scorptec, it was the best deal I could find... Maybe I was mistaken? Oh well...

The Hiper PSU is for sale at www.nintek.com.au, I've seen it, but is 580W really enough?

I feel as though I should really go for a 650W PSU but I'm really unsure. PSUs are probably the computer part that I know the least about... :S

fixed URL (had the comma in it)
$189, lower than I thought, but still kinda high...

anyway, you'll have more than enough power with 580W. it will even run fine on 500W.
I'd probabbly say get something like 550W though, or close to it. that will give you some headroom.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I'd probabbly say get something like 550W though, or close to it. that will give you some headroom.
But 580 is better so if you do get another card you have the extra 30W.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

550W would still be enough for SLI/crossfire
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol we could talk about this for ages im just saying that 580W is going to best for him because cards coming out in the future like directX10 cards will need more power so thats why.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 07:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think ATI and Nvidia would be trying to get their GPU's using less power. much like the 7900 against the 7800...
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59
Default

What about an antec truepower 2 550 watt, i got one and its doing the job. if your looking for prices try www.staticice.com.au
__________________
Opteron 165 @ 2.2
DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
Leadtek 7800gt
1 Gb OCZ premier @ 200mhz
Bilbotubbins is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 08:05 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Well, since the Silverstone 650W PSU is in stock there (Nintek already has an order from me, see, but I could probably still get the PSU elsewhere), and it's two bucks less than that Hiper one, maybe I'll just go for that. Or is that a bad idea? I figured I go high, just to be absolutely sure, but why is it cheaper than that Hiper one..?

By the way, 'modular' PSU means that the cables and stuff are interchangeable, right? How exactly will that work? Will it come with all the cables I need if I choose the Hiper one?

Edit:
Eeek, I wish I'd know about this StaticIce earlier... Found out that I paid 100 AUD more than I should have for my graphics card... Oh well, I'll live...
__________________

SWCheetah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.