550W, 650W or 750W ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2006, 04:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default 550W, 650W or 750W ?

Hi guys,
I don't know what kind of power supply to get!

I'll shortly have a Radeon 1900 XT, an Asus A8R32 MVP DELUXE motherboard, an AMD Athlon 64 4000+, and 2GB OCZ ram (in addition to all the less pertinent stuff).

If I overclock my graphics card and my CPU (I may use Crossfire but probably not if it's as futile as I've heard...), what sort of PSU am I looking at..?

I was gonna get a 750W one but they're out of stock EVERYWHERE in Australia for some reason... :S
Which I guess is a good thing because I probably didn't need it.

So does anyone know what kind of PSU I should be getting for this setup, assuming that I'll eventually OC? Any recommendations, please?

Thanks.
__________________

SWCheetah is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 04:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

I would think that 550W would be alright, 650W would be safer though if you're going to OC. Don't think you'd need 750W.
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 05:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

550W is more than enough for what you have. just make sure you get a quality PSU, not a cheapo one
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 05:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

Okay, I'll have a look.
SWCheetah is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 05:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so you live in Victoria
I'd recommend taking a look at MSY
they have some good prices on things.

Antec True Power II 530W - AU$155
or Cooler Master 550W - AU$155
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 05:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

I recommend getting Hiper R Type 580W. This will be enough

http://www.hipergroup.com/English/pr...hpu-4b580.html

good choice on the mobo i got same one
havent got a new card yet though. need some money!!
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 05:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I don't think those are available in Australia. if they are, they're probabbly going to be quite pricey though.

you do want to spend a bit of money on a good PSU, but at the same time it is often not smart to spend too much when you really don't need to
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 05:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I don't think those are available in Australia. if they are, they're probabbly going to be quite pricey though.

you do want to spend a bit of money on a good PSU, but at the same time it is often not smart to spend too much when you really don't need to
Do you mean the psu i recommended? i dont see why it wouldnt be in australia and it deffinetly doesnt cost too much. Im in UK and you can pick one up now for about £55 and you think UK is expensive (not u personally)
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes, I do mean the PSU you listed. I've been to many computer stores here and haven't seen one of them for sale.

UK currency is worth about 2.5 times as much as Australian, so 55 pounds is about AU$137.5
plus, there will be the cost of shipping the things into Australia, the profit margin for resellers, the GST on top, and maybe a couple of other things.
at a guess they would probabbly be about AU$200 if they were sold here.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

Well if you cant get it there then thats fine. I wasnt suggesting getting it shipped across thats just insane and a waste of money.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.