520hx? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2008, 03:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 520hx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
It's better to have 2 heavy amped rails then 4 low amped rails.
Not neccessarily. If you are using multiple cards, the different rails will power different video cards, and different items. Just have to be sure that you dont overload one rail.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 03:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 520hx?

so, with any SLI/ new quad or new dual set up, I will be FINE?
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 03:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 520hx?

As long as you dont plan to run dual gx2's, which would be like running 4 GTS512's.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 03:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 520hx?

yeah. ok cool.

BUT if I do want to run two GX2's which I know I won't do, but what PSU would I need?
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 03:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: 520hx?

OCZ 700watt psu? 72 amps?
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 04:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 520hx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
yeah. ok cool.

BUT if I do want to run two GX2's which I know I won't do, but what PSU would I need?
If I were to run an 8core and tri-sli 8800ultra setup (which I know I won't do), what PSU would I need?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 04:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: 520hx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
If I were to run an 8core and tri-sli 8800ultra setup (which I know I won't do), what PSU would I need?
Fortron 400 watt.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 04:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: 520hx?

Some crazy $300-400 powersupply that supplies 1000watts and a chunk load of amps to go along with it.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 04:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 520hx?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
If I were to run an 8core and tri-sli 8800ultra setup (which I know I won't do), what PSU would I need?
Corsair 520hx
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-26-2008, 04:08 PM   #20 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: 520hx?

wow, glad this thread went south. haha
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy my system. 8800GT, Crucial ballistix, M2N-SLI Deluxe, Corsair 520HX... Rakie Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 48 01-28-2008 04:06 PM
Corsair 520HX good enough for 8800gtx? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-11-2007 11:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.