512 Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default 512 Cards

Can someone explain to me how a 256 mb videocard can be better than a 512 mb video card. or can it?
Thanks
__________________

joelminns is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Better?

Well, they certainly are less expensive and provide equal performance to a 512MB card.

The 512 Cards are Marketing Fluff and from what i've read, 512MB of onboard VGA ram isn't utilized.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

512 will be used in the future probaly, and good for those high resolution and textures and what not. but 256 is perfectly. fine
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 10:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

A 256MB 7800 GTX is certainly "better" than a 512MB 6800 GT, for example. There are mnay other factors to consider when looking at a video card other than the amount of VRAM.

However: Doom 3, as well as other shader-intensive games like BF2, F.E.A.R. etc do/will use a hell of a lot of video memory... a 512MB frame buffer (or SLI/XFIRE'd 256MB - halves the workload and not equivelant to a 512MB solution, remember) will become quite necessary in the near future for craking up the eye candy.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

512MB of vram can only be useful for some kind of extreme modeler.

Say, a PIXAR 3D modeler, who probably makes models with an incredible amount of polygons that would never be seen in games. The texture resolution would most likely utilize the 512MB.

So, unless you plan to use your PC for that kind of extreme use, don't bother with it. Computer games will not see past 256MB of VRAM for at least another year. I have doubts UT 2007 will even use that much.

I do believe games like FEAR will be more processor-intensive since the physics and volumetric lighting is very harsh on CPUs. Remember that CPUs are the bottlenecks in games right now and that most of these video cards are not using 100% of their power. The only reason SLI is useful at the moment is because the data gets split into two 8X channels. Once the physics add-on cards are released CPUs will have a lot less calculations and single gfx cards will end up using all 16X bandwith.

A current 512 MB card will most likely be too slow when games that use that much vram come out. I almost bought a 256MB 9800 Pro which was released quite awhile ago. The 256MB was not even utilized until games like HL2 came out and in performance tests it did maybe 1-2 fps better. I think this was stated by my favorite review site toms hardware.

Read toms hardware. They usually have extremely accurate tests for any new technology. There should be a review on video cards with extreme VRAM amounts. I recall the conclusion stating that the extra $100-200 is not worth it in any way for normal consumers that game, video edit, photoshop, etc, etc
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.