500 MB/s System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 08:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default 500 MB/s System

Hey all. I need help with making a system that can support over 500 MB/s write speed (yes that megaBYTES, not bits. Just clarifying.)

But that's not all. Because obviously with such high write speeds I large abouts of space (somewhere around several TBs.) The drives also need to be quick.

Price is not a limiting factor.

Thanks.
__________________

bobaandy is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

well since the only thing that can transfer 500 MB/s is fiber cable... good luck

Serial ATA - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

I was thinking more along the lines of, you know, RAID....

Edit, and SCSI maybe? Never used it though.
bobaandy is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

Well yeah, but to get several TB in Raid you would need a huge amount of 1TB drives.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobaandy View Post
Price is not a limiting factor.
But will the physical SPEED (7200 RPM) bottleneck the supposed RAID transfer rate?
bobaandy is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 09:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

That's a tough one...

You're looking at some serious hardware if you want to achieve that. Good thing budget isn't a problem

Newegg.com - Areca ARC-1230 PCI-Express x8 SATA II Controller Card RAID level 0, 1 (10), 3, 5, 6 (if RAID 6 engine supported) and JBOD - Controllers / RAID Cards
8-12X Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

those in a proper RAID array should give you what you're looking for.

You could use the new velociraptors too, but they are rather pricey.

8X Newegg.com - Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000GLFS 300GB 10000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

Or you could go the super expensive SAS route and get the best throughput and best latencies.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 10:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

3 of these raided
Intel X25-E Extreme 32GB 2.5" SATA-II Solid State Hard Drive (SSDSA2SH032G1))

Would be faster then a set of raided cheetahs (seagates scsi range)
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 10:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

It would be faster but comes up a bit short on the needing "somewhere around several terabytes" of space.

Not by much. Raid0 would be 96gb.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 11:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 500 MB/s System

Oh right missed that bit well they do come in a 250gb form you could get 9 in raid5 lol
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
Decoding STOP Errors KSoD Official TF Tutorials 0 12-06-2008 11:06 PM
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
Price check... complete system... if you're bored? Vormund Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 09-06-2007 05:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.