4x1gb or 2x2 gb???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2008, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

So RAM (and the cpu cooler) are the very last parts to my new build.

Wondering, I'm buying 1066, 4gb, but i dont know if I should get the 2x2 or 4x1. I know for a fact newegg doesnt sell 4x1 1066 (prove me wrong, maybe they do) but they do sell 2x2gb 1066 ocz reaper for $128 shipped..

Newegg.com - OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

I'm gonna overclock my e8400 to 3.6ghz (which you can do without tweaking voltage ive heard) but your ram needs to be able to keep up to not bottleneck..

How much extra would the 4x1 be? and whats the best place to buy it? Its the last part of my build and I want to get a good system.

Specs: (already have all this stuff)

asus p5q pro (p45, ichr10 or whatever)
e8400 (E0 stepping)
antec 900
650tx
WD se16 640gb
sata dvd
Windows vista home premium 64

Thanks a ton, love this site and all the help members have given (ill join the folding team for payback )
__________________

Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

get the 2x2GB kit so you can upgrade more in the future.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

Id' be able to upgrade better with the 4x1.. only takes 1 slot.... I mean one 4 GB stick, not four 1ghz
Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

go 2x2, you wont need 8gb of memory. By the time you do, you would be better off upgrading to nehalem and switching to ddr3. Also, if you were to do 1 4gb stick, you wouldnt get the benefits of the dual channel.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

Those 2X2 will probably overclock better as well, and if you have four slots you can add up to 8gbs anyway...you wont need 4x4 = 16gb for years.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 11:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

True. Good point, gonna get the reapers. Thanks a ton
Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 12:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

Newegg.com - CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

Better timings and cheaper. I dont know why we keep recommending those reapers.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 12:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
Because the reapers overclock well. We normally recommend ddr880 though. If your getting higher speed ram then the reapers are not always the best as overclocking is not such an issue.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 01:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

Yeah, I'm looking into the reapers because when I OC my e8400 to 3.6ghz on stock volts, ive heard you have to increase some stuff, like ram junk, pci-e to 100mhz, and up the NB volts a bit. doesnt the e8400 get to 3.6ghz with stock volts? you just tweak the fsb, right?
Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 4x1gb or 2x2 gb????

The reapers will run 800mhz at 4-4-4-12, and will run 1066 if you loosen the timings to 5-5-5-15 like those corsairs.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory configuration, 1x2GB vs 1x1 or 2x2 vs 4GB kolobok New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-13-2008 03:01 PM
Best 2x2 ram kits veedubfreak New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-26-2008 01:11 AM
4x1gb or 2x2gb kpmwrestler New Systems | Building and Buying 1 01-22-2008 10:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.