4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2015, 07:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Zimmerman
Posts: 56
Default 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

Almost done buying all the components for my 1st build.
I have an Samsung 850 pro (512gb) SSD. I will run my operating system ( Win. 7) and programs from here.
The HDD are for storing files. We take a ton of photos and HD videos of our kids. In 1 year I went from 0-500gb on files. So now I am going big. I would love to run RAID 1 as a back-up. I will have an external HD. But I would feel more comfortable with some more security as a backup if something were to happen.
If I run a RAID1 on 2 4tb HDD, this is kind of a safety net if something were to happen to 1 of the drives, correct?
Is there any negative to running 2 4tb HDD in RAID1?
Can Wndows 7 functional with 2 4tb HDD in RAID1? I thought I read somewhere Windows 7 limits you to 2.7tb?
Thanks everyone.
__________________

frldyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 07:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

I suggest against running 4TB disks in raid(Chance of the array rebuilding without corruption is low)... If you need mass storage, get a NAS that supports a higher level of RAID, like Raid5, and put several 2TB disks into it instead of 4TB disks.

Also, make sure you purchase your disks at different times from different suppliers, because if you order a pair from Newegg, chances are the disks will be from the same lot, and if one has a defect, chances are the other would have a defect.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

Quote:
Originally Posted by frldyz View Post
I would love to run RAID 1 as a back-up. I will have an external HD. But I would feel more comfortable with some more security as a backup if something were to happen.
.
RAID is NOT a backup method! Please don't use it as such, because that is definitely the incorrect way of going about things.

It is redundancy only. A proper backup method is a daily or weekly copy of data to both a separate drive, as well as off-site - so you have both a backup and redundancy.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

I rec using a RAID (0 for performance and 1 for redundancy) but also have a backup drive of all that data.
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
I rec using a RAID (0 for performance and 1 for redundancy) but also have a backup drive of all that data.
RAID 0 is for if you don't care about your data .

"RAID 0 - it's called that because that's exactly how many files you'll be able to recover if it fails."
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 03:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

I would never EVER recommend to ANYONE to use R0 at all these days, mostly because R0 was made with the thought of getting high read and writes out of platter based drives. With SSD's now, R0 is mostly pointless unless you are running a server with non-critical data and several SCSI disks.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 09:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
I would never EVER recommend to ANYONE to use R0 at all these days, mostly because R0 was made with the thought of getting high read and writes out of platter based drives. With SSD's now, R0 is mostly pointless unless you are running a server with non-critical data and several SCSI disks.
Agreed.

But...what about R0 SSD's!!!

In all honesty, if speed is that important...RAM-disk ftw.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Zimmerman
Posts: 56
Default Re: 4tb HDD RAID!.. Should I?

I didn't ean for it to sound like I think RAID! is a back-up. Sorry if it came across like that.

The benefit of RAID1 is only if 1 HDD dies ( maybe from some kind of mechanical failure ) then the info is still there on the 2nd HDD assuming there is no mechanical failure.

If 1 dies, its still available on the other.
Assuming there is no ccorruption or file damage etc...
__________________

frldyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crazy good deal on USB 3.0 external 4TB HDD $99 free S/H Sean W. Off Topic Discussion 3 11-05-2014 12:51 PM
New 4TB HDD is split smurph Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-09-2013 05:22 AM
Opinions on 3tb-4tb external drives? iamloco724 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-07-2013 02:50 AM
Affordable home server backup solution (4tb) Tangolima600 System Upgrades 4 08-04-2012 09:16 PM
WD new Multi-sytem Compatible 4TB NAS Unknown58 New Technology and Products 1 06-25-2009 02:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.