4870 X2 flicker.. :/ - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2008, 12:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

I have ahd the same issue with my 4850. its the drivers. Roll back to 8.5 if you can. There are no issues with that one, at least none that I have seen.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:06 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Strange, I and so many others don't have that problem. Most likely not the drivers...
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

hmm ive herd alot of horror stories with the 4870x2, seems to be prone to malfunctioning. its gonna be ati's 7900gt lol.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Thus we have RMA's.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

ya but havign to rma sucks none the less it should work out of the box. not have to be taken out then tested.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:28 AM   #16 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Hey Akubane, i get the same problem to. Ur not alone.

it's the game Crysis Warhead, it needs to be fixed. Oh, Akubane, can u get Hellgate: London to run? I can barely get it to run in single player.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poizen22 View Post
ya but havign to rma sucks none the less it should work out of the box. not have to be taken out then tested.

OH yea and ATI is the only one that has problems..
Ste is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 01:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

I won't waste time installing hellgate london anymore lol. After a bunch of reading its mosty Diamond and Visiontek that seem to be having issues. not always, but mostly (so it seems).
It's not just crysis, though thats the most common one, I read someone had trouble with oblivion too.

I'm not really sure now if I need to RMA the card or not. If I disable the catalyst A.I. completely, theres no flicker, and the electric buzzing sound dissappeared for the most part, after some use.

If it's just that A.I. thing maybe it's only a driver issue?

Anyhow I just spent the last while blowing through crysis: warhead like butter hahaha. man it's awesome. Not so much as a hiccup. 1680x1050, all enthusiast, 2xaa, no af.

I went to try 1920x1200.... but there's no option for it? kinda weird. is it just me, or... ?
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 11:45 AM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
Hey Akubane, i get the same problem to. Ur not alone.

it's the game Crysis Warhead, it needs to be fixed. Oh, Akubane, can u get Hellgate: London to run? I can barely get it to run in single player.
It's not Warhead. I have had no issues running it on my 8800gs. My brother had the filckering problem on his HD4850 with the 8.9 drivers. He rolled back to the drivers that came with the card and hasn't had any problems since.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-30-2008, 12:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Yeah, it is completely a driver issue. Your 4870x2 is fine.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the cheapest 4870 ATM? (Is it this? $240) Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-11-2008 09:16 AM
4870 v 260... Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-09-2008 06:59 PM
4870X2 vs. 4870 CF vs. 4850 CF Prototype New Systems | Building and Buying 73 08-24-2008 09:51 PM
AMD Announces Dual-GPU HD 4850, 4870 Cards NightSurge New Technology and Products 9 08-14-2008 04:13 PM
Can insufficient power cause monitor flicker? drop_d Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 05-03-2007 08:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.