4870 X2 flicker.. :/ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2008, 11:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Yo, 4870 X2 came in today. Took me 4 hours just to get it to display my monitor properly (same EDID recognition issues as nVidia cards. No surprise)

Anyway, go to boot up crysis warhead to test this baby out and see how the new game is for myself. Right from the start of the logos, flickering in the form of black bars goign horizontal across the screen. Persists through to the menu and in-game.

Google results came up as a ton of people havign same issues, haven't spotted if there are any fixes yet.

I know there are a couple people with an X2 here, was wondering if y'all ran into any issues? Or have come across any fixes?

Or am i stuck waiting for drivers.. (surprise surprise?)

Thanks..
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Never told us which drivers you tried.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

"If you disable/reduce catalyst AI do things change at all? In catalyst control centre go to 3d, Catalyst AI and move the slider/disable to see if that changes things. For the 4870x2 it's recommended that you have AI at standard. Disabling it will mean you will only use 1 GPU"

Thats the only thing I found that might fix it. Other than that looks like you will be waiting on new drivers
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Cannot disbale crossfire on the X2.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Oh sorry. Assumed you'd assume the new ones. CCC 8.9. Anything I've read said flickering was worse with 8.8.

Catalyst A.I. was defaulted at standard already. Switchign to advanced made no difference. Disablign one of the GPU's would defeat the whole purpose of having this :/

Another thing to note, is it doesn't flicker while the game is in windowed mode.

Edit** Disabling A.I. altogether seems to have gotten rid of flickering/distortion. So doing that "doesn't" disable a gpu?

What exactly is the A.I. function for then? lol

Still get the high pitch electrical buzz when full screen but whatever, maybe its normal for these cards.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Crossfire doesn't work in windowed mode, sounds like youll need to RMA if you already tried other drivers.
Ste is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

heh, figures. What brand is your X2? I went with diamond because all the other HSF look stupid as **** :/ maybe i'll try a different brand.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Sapphire
Ste is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

I guess I don't spend much time looking inside my case anyway. I'll try one of those. Thanks a bunch you two ^_^.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 11:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: 4870 X2 flicker.. :/

Yea, I didn't even look at the design, just poped her in and started using it.

I had to RMA mine too, your not alone..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the cheapest 4870 ATM? (Is it this? $240) Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-11-2008 09:16 AM
4870 v 260... Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-09-2008 06:59 PM
4870X2 vs. 4870 CF vs. 4850 CF Prototype New Systems | Building and Buying 73 08-24-2008 09:51 PM
AMD Announces Dual-GPU HD 4850, 4870 Cards NightSurge New Technology and Products 9 08-14-2008 04:13 PM
Can insufficient power cause monitor flicker? drop_d Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 05-03-2007 08:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.