4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2008, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

This really sucks. My 4870 card easily fits in length wise, however, the brackets that you screw onto the case to secure it at the back of the card near the DVI outputs, hit the case about 7mm before the PCI-E connection is in. Which means i'm totally screwed now.

I tried just bending the brackets back untill it started to pull on any components, which was half successfull, but it still wouldn't go in my about 4mm - and i couldnt bend the brackets any more as it would start to pull on the connections.

The case brackets are to hard to hammer down, or cut off aswell...

Now what the **** can i do ?
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

I understand it doesn't fit but can you show me a pic of what you mean by the other stuff?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

Do you mean the support brackets made out of plastic? they can just be flicked out after the screw has been removed aswell as the central support bar if you haven't got anything resting on top mind. I assume that is what he means as I also hace a lian li case.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

I don't get what's quite going on, any chance of a pic or two?
Nick is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
nderscore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 163
Send a message via AIM to nderscore
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

Did you install your motherboard standoffs?
nderscore is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 12:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

I'll try to take a picture, could be difficult.

Oh it get's better, the PC won't even start. After about 5 attempts the top fan blue LED came on and the fan started for about half a second, and then nothing...

edit:

Nevermind about the Graphics card, i managed to bend a part of the metal on the graphics card (Serves no other purpose than to hold it in place and ground it) And i've made sure it's grounded, it now fits in.

Anyway, more importantly..why won't my pc start..

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Do you mean the support brackets made out of plastic? they can just be flicked out after the screw has been removed aswell as the central support bar if you haven't got anything resting on top mind. I assume that is what he means as I also hace a lian li case.

Erm, what support brackets ? there is nothing plastic inside the case Anyway, that bit doesn't matter now. It's my pc starting up i care about.

Ive got the power switch cable in, ive got the reset switch cable in, ive go the ATX connector in, i've got the ATX +12v connector in - at first i thought it didnt have enough power because of the extra 3 fans compared to my old case, so removed my GPU. No difference, i'm totally confused.

Ive got all the motherboard screws in (That ground it, i beleive) except one in the middle of the board (Because the damned thing wont fit in) But when i removed the mobo from my old case i noticed i had forgot to put a few screws in and it still worked.

Totally, Utterly, Confused.

Maybe i fried my system parts from static But that's never happened before.

Oh - sorry for the swearing above ! i was more then a little annoyed when it happened
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 12:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
Nevermind about the Graphics card, i managed to bend a part of the metal on the graphics card (Serves no other purpose than to hold it in place and ground it) And i've made sure it's grounded, it now fits in.
Umm what do you mean by "you grounded it"?
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

check the front panel switch headers....or if the mobo has an on switch hit it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumway View Post
Umm what do you mean by "you grounded it"?
The mobo standoffs ground it...if not the board will short circuit.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

Or he's talking about it being seated properly...
Nick is offline  
Old 11-01-2008, 01:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: 4870 Won't Fit in Lian-Li Armoursuit..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shumway View Post
Umm what do you mean by "you grounded it"?
The graphics PCB board is like the motherboard, it has screws built into the circuitry. In this case the screws attatch the PCB to the metal which normally screws to the pccaseing, i just made sure the pc caseing was touching the GPU like it normally is.

Anyway, my entire PC won't turn on - and there is no on switch on the mobo, ive checked the buttons are connected aswell.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will this fit a 2.120 radiator? (lian li.) andrewsvalesen Overclocking and Modding 4 09-23-2008 07:29 PM
4870 v 260... Jtumble2 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-09-2008 06:59 PM
4870X2 vs. 4870 CF vs. 4850 CF Prototype New Systems | Building and Buying 73 08-24-2008 09:51 PM
AMD Announces Dual-GPU HD 4850, 4870 Cards NightSurge New Technology and Products 9 08-14-2008 04:13 PM
What cards fit in what cases list Method New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-07-2008 07:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.