4850 crossfire... what cpu for games? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2009, 01:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Red face 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

Hey there.

Tomorrow im getting a 2nd 4850 card from a guy at work. So, I will have two 4850 cards installed in crossfire mode. Yippee. Im using Vista HP 32, and a Pentium(R) Dual-core CPU E5200 2.5 Ghz. And my monitor Rez is 1680x1050 22 in. My question is, I really want to get Modern Warfare 2 for the PC and not the Xbox, but should I upgrade my CPU? Should I wait, and instead try to overclock it? Basically, will spending the money on a new CPU be worth it? Can my PSU handle 2 GPU's?


Biostar TP45 HP
4Gb OCZ DDR2 800
Corsair 650W PSU


Everything is air cooled. 1 side fan, 1 front fan, 1 rear exhaust fan, 2 extra exhaust fans, and an aftermarket cpu cooler
__________________

Callofbooty is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

CPU upgrade really comes down to what your motherboard can handle.

What motherboard are you running?
What BIOS version?

Check the motherboard manufacturer for CPU compatibility. You might need to update your BIOS in the process.

I say make the most what you can from your existing set up. If you can get a late Core2Duo or Core2Quad, then you should be laughing.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 01:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

Im running a Biostar TP45 HP Motherboard. These are the supported CPU's.....

Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX9770 SLAWM 3.20 GHz 1600MHz 136W
Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX6850 SLAFN 3 GHz 1333Mhz 130W
Intel® Core™2 Extreme Processor QX6800 SL9UK 2.93 GHz 1066Mhz 130W
Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor X6800 X6800 2.40 GHz 1066Mhz 75W
Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q9550 SLAWQ 2.83 GHz 1333Mhz 95W
Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q9300 SLAWE 2.50 GHz 1333Mhz 95W
Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q8300 QHJC 2.50 GHz 1333Mhz 95W
Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q6600 SL9UM 2.40 GHz 1066Mhz 105W
Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q6400 SL9UN 2.13 GHz 1066Mhz 105W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8500 SLAPK 3.16GHz 1333Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8400 SLAPL 3 GHz 1333Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E8200 SLAPP 2.66 GHz 1333Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E7500 SLB9Z 2.93 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E7300 SLAPB 2.66 GHz 1066MHz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6850 SLA9U 3 GHz 1333Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6750 SLA9V 2.66 GHz 1333Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6700 SL9S7 2.66 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6700 SL9ZF 2.66 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6600 SL9S8 2.40 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6600 SL9ZL 2.40 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6400 SL9S9 2.13 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6400 SL9T9 2.13 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6320 SLA4U 1.86 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6300 SL9TA 1.86 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E6300 SL9SA 1.86 GHz 1066Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E4700 E4700 2.60 GHz 800Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E4500 SLA95 2.20 GHz 800Mhz 65W
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor E4400 SLA3F 2 GHz 800Mhz 65W

I'm not sure what you mean by I should be laughing. Is that cuz I'm going to be really happy?
Callofbooty is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 09:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

Quote:
Minimum System Requirements:
Hard Drive Space: 16GB free hard drive space
Operating System: XP / Windows Vista / Windows 7
Processor: AMD 64 3200+ or Intel Pentium 4 3.0GHz or better
RAM: 512MB RAM (XP) / 1GB RAM (Vista)
Video Card: Shader 3.0 or better 256MB Nvidia GeForce 6600GT / ATI Radeon 1600XT or better
Your setup is more than ample for that game. But you could still overclock your CPU anyways just to know that you're getting the most out of your components.

If you want to upgrade for the sake of upgrading, you can pop in a core 2 quad. How much ram do you have?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

I'd say a Q9550 if you need a quad direly, or if you just want plain high clock speed an e8400.

But IMO, you really shouldn't be paying that much for either of those CPU's especially with an i5 extremely close to that price, I'd stick with the e5200 and overclock the heck out of it.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 09:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 88
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

Thanks for responding guys. I have 4 Gb of DDR2 800
Callofbooty is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 10:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

Sounds like you're good to go for that game. Just OC your cpu a bit, and you have yourself a great gaming rig.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 02:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

you realy need to update to a 64bit OS. You're running 32 bit with 4gb of RAM and 2 video cards. Which means 2gb of the RAM is just wasting space and not even being used :|

but yea, personally I would just OC some stuff and call it a day..even stock you could run the game fine
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 09:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

32 bit detects 3.25 gigs.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 09:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: 4850 crossfire... what cpu for games?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druid View Post
32 bit detects 3.25 gigs.
but you have to factor the video card ram in. if they are two 512mb cards then that equals 1GB of ram

and Dual 4850's are overkill for that res and MW2.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the best CPU I can get............ hesson81 System Upgrades 15 02-12-2009 08:44 PM
Problem Installing CPU Noniy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-24-2008 03:04 PM
Rosewill RCX-2775 CPU cooler. A diamond in the rough. Sora New Technology and Products 8 06-18-2008 04:01 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.