4850 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2008, 03:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default 4850

Newegg.ca - Radeon HD 4850, Radeon HD 4000 series, Desktop Graphics / Video Cards, Video Cards & Video Devices, Computer Hardware

wat one out of these are good? will i get same performance from the sapphire 203 dollar one as the asus 224 dollar one? or is it just the warrenty differences, will i be able to play games like far cry and cod 4 on max?

current setup
asus m2n32 sli deluxe
athlon 4800 2.4 ghz windsor
7950 gx2
corsair 667 2gb

backup287 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 04:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
stalin90's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: 4850

yes a 4850 will be able to play cod 4 maxed out, and on the w/ the brands i really look at warrentys and the cooler they have one the card, i really like power color cards because they have some nice coolers on them(not the stock reference ones) and w/ the coolers they have ramsinks on them, they also offer a 2 year warranty.

visiontek has a lifetime warranty but they are usually a lil more expensive.

the problem w/ the sapphire one ur talkin about is yes it has a aftermaket cooler but it really doesnt look that good and it doesnt have ramsinks on it

i personally would get this:
Newegg.ca - POWERCOLOR AX4850 512MD3-PPH Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

but i would think that ur 7950 gx2 would be able to play cod4 maxed out cuz it really isnt that demanding of a game


- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 08:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: 4850

Yeh u 'should' be able to play maxed out, but it really depends what res you are plaing at, if its low like 1280x1024 you should be fine. Your cpu and ram is pretty old and will be limiting a modern gpu though so you might find it harder on FC2.
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: 4850

cant play cod4 with 4X AA i would get lag, and cod4 multiplayer is intense you dont want even slightest lag
backup287 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4850 X-Fire or 4850 Watercooled?! NosBoost300 Overclocking and Modding 23 09-21-2008 06:26 PM
question about this 4850 Monkey New Systems | Building and Buying 10 08-28-2008 03:15 PM
AMD Announces Dual-GPU HD 4850, 4870 Cards NightSurge New Technology and Products 9 08-14-2008 03:13 PM
4850 check... Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 19 08-02-2008 12:30 PM
Is there alot of difference between the 4850 and the 8800gt? Ric0h New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-23-2008 10:02 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.