480W enough power? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default 480W enough power?

Hey,

Will 480W be enough to power an ATI - aiw X1800 XL pci-e video card?

Along with Western Digital Caviar RAID 400GB and AMD Athlon 64 3700+.
Thanks
__________________

plus is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 291
Default

What brand is the PSU?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @2.4Ghz
Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2
Connect 3d X1800XT 256mb
G.Skill 2GB DDR2 667Mhz
Belinea 19\" Widescreen LCD
Antec Super Lanboy
Seasonic ATX v2 430W
weringo is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

The brand pretty much decides whether it will or not.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Ah sorry it's a DabsXtreme Tagan from dabs.com.
plus is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

I would go with an Antec, Thermaltake, OCZ, or Raidmax. I never heard of that brand before.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Yeah, I wasn't sure on it aswell. Thanks for posting brand names I think i'll go with one of them you suggested
plus is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

FSP (Fortron Source) is also a good brand. I have one of them myself.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Wattage doesn't matter as much has having strong rails. The Antec NeoHE series are some of the best power supplies you can get. They are expensive though.
__________________

BandwidthHogg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.