46 hours left - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2006, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default 46 hours left

Today i payed for my PC that i built with all of my friends from this forum! (It will be ready tomorrow, the company near my house are building it).

Specs:

Core 2 Duo E6300, 1066Mhz, s775, 2MB Cache
945GM-S2 s775 Conroe, 945G, DDRII 667, VGA, PCI-E
1GB Corsair 677 (will be adding a stick in 2 months).
Sapphire Radeon X1900XT 512MB, 2xDVI, VIVO, PCI-E
Seagate 80GB 7200RPM, 8MB, SATA II
Supertalent CA-601UFK Black
Noisetaker EG425P-VE 420W

These are the specs ill will be posting some pics of the PC in and outisde of it.

Thanks to everyone !
Tech-Forums 4 life!

Preacher
__________________

__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 01:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

hmm, why to go for Arndale Core, should have gone for Conroe. anyway, congrats for the system!
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default

He did but yeah he should of goten a e6600 but good build anyway.
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

Yeah, well why not (dont be stupid) i didnt have the money :P but anyways HL2 on full ultra high setting with HDR + AA at 240fps is good enough for me
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It really bugs me when people say "You should go get a X6800 and 2 7900GTX's - your PC is now ****!!!" FFS money does not grow on trees.

Enjoy your PC! Hopefully one day you will build them your self.

/rant.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default

Yeah, thanks Trifid! My dad wont let me
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

well, if u flused money on X1900, then you should have used some other and added to CPU, also to H/D.


If I would have been in your place, I would have gone for some other VGA, but went for Conroe and S-ATA-II H/D. now you are making a system that could process graphics quicker, and will wait for them to pass through processor and hard drive.

also, adding extra RAM will not bring any significant change, only 4-5% increase, not even that. better stay with 1GB.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
well, if u flused money on X1900, then you should have used some other and added to CPU, also to H/D.


If I would have been in your place, I would have gone for some other VGA, but went for Conroe and S-ATA-II H/D. now you are making a system that could process graphics quicker, and will wait for them to pass through processor and hard drive.

also, adding extra RAM will not bring any significant change, only 4-5% increase, not even that. better stay with 1GB.
hrmm.... no one complained about 4400's and 4800's.. and a e6300 does better than both.... so the gpu would not be waiting on the cpu..... and staying with 1 gb is NOT better.... when i played bf2 with 1 gig it would lag everyonce in a while with my 7900gt.. then when i threw in my 2nd gig that problem seemed to disappear...

anyway, i think you made the right move, and thats an awesome system you got, the only complaint i have is that your psu isnt so good... but other than that.. enjoy it man
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

It's not Arndale, it's ALLENDALE.
The General is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 02:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

One thing I would like to point out, there isn't any RAM that runs at 1-1-1-6, the closest is GEIL one which is 1.5-2-2-5 which is PC3200.

CPU's can be overclocked and Conroe has been proven to go over 3ghz with ease.

http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.aspx?i=2802&p=10

2gibs of RAM makes a PC feel soo much more responsive.

And it is SATAII - not that it makes a difference other than burst speed.

Nos, it is Enermax which is a good PSU - not the best but good. - Just had a look at the wattage, 420 is taking it a bit close.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.