is 450w enough? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2006, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default is 450w enough?

i've heard the forton 450w recomended to me and some other people who are overclock and i just want to know if 450w is enough for overclocking?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yea, its enough. And that Forton rocks.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

ill second that
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

DFI boards officially require at least a 480w power supply.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

depends on what video card you have

if its really powerful like 6800GS or above i think a 500W would be safer.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 08:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

**** then i cant get it if DFI boards require 480w or above and im getting a 7800GT
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 10:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

If you people don't think 36A are enough, get out more.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 01:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

so do you think it will handle this sysem

DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D
Opteron 146 overclocked
EVGA 7800GT overclocked
G.SKILL 2gb extreme series

and if it dosent work i could always RMA it right
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 02:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Yes you could RMA it, but 450W and 36A are MORE than enough. You have twice the amps suggested for an Athlon 64 system.
Flanker is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 12:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
If you people don't think 36A are enough, get out more.
I concur. The Watt rating is not the end-all way to tell how it's going to run. That 450W Fortron is enough to run a DFI board and a 7800GT. And then a few extra hard drives to boot. 36A on 12V rails is a lot.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.