$4310.oo Budget - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2006, 05:37 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
Reported post to have Mod merger it with original thread.....


what is this?

I was told Dominator was they way to go with RAM recently?

and is my wireless networking setup too much or fine as is.
__________________

Dee_Dubayah is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:42 PM   #32 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dee_Dubayah
Originally posted by Ethereal_Dragon
Reported post to have Mod merger it with original thread.....


what is this?

I was told Dominator was they way to go with RAM recently?

and is my wireless networking setup too much or fine as is.
I don't know what your wireless Setup is....

OCZ is one of many Really good Memory companies. Its just a suggestions, in the end your buying, not me.

If you want to save some money you can get one of those plextors I linked and this One.
Samsung DVD-RW
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:44 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nagasama
dude you know more than me...but i'm not kowtowing....
um, the htb is the reason of my argument.
intel is using the basic theory of hypertransport now...which is why their chips are so fast. once again, i.e. they eliminated the northbridge. and if amd didn't pioneer (note: not invent) ht...who did?
although i will admit fsb is much more easily understood than htt...lol
Intel doesn't use any basic theory of HyperTransport, the did not eliminate the Northbridge. The reason for Intel's processors being so fast is a superior architecture, and mainly consists of shorter pipelines with complex stages (there are about a dozen other tweaks). Core architecture also has 3 simple + 1 complex decoders to the Athlon 64's 3 complex (their definitions are different for each company).

To Pioneer does not necessarily mean to invent. To pioneer something is to use it more than others do, and to make it mainstream or a force to be reckoned with. To invent it...to create. The HyperTransport Consortium invented HyperTransport and while AMD is a part of the Consortium along with Apple, Cisco, Sun, Nvidia, and Transmeta, it means that almost anyone, including Intel, can pick up the technology at any time.

I'd rather Intel use HyperTransport and an IMC though, it'd make things simpler.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:46 PM   #34 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

That is there becuase this thread is a duplicate and needs to be merged with the original thread $4310.oo Budget....

And STe... I did see your post, but RAID 5 would push him overbudget, and you left out a RAID 5 controller.... that Motherboard has built in RAID, but only 0, 1 and 10....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 05:48 PM   #35 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

It doesn't require much thought to say.

Oh hey, Mobo doesn't have raid 5 So I can then RAID 0 or 1 them. But he didn't say that. Telling me he doesn't want RAID Reguardless.

If he now chooses to RAID them then he should get two of the Second Drive I listed.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:30 PM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

Looking for a beautiful case?

Check out:
Silverstone
Lian-Li
Zalman (if u want it silent and have 700$ to spend on a case)

These guys dont sell a plastic lightshow, but they have nice brushed aluminum
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.