$4310.oo Budget - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 07:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Ok having put some thought into it i decided to give this a shot. So throughing out my first rule of going pre-build and keeping it reasonable like not going 2 8800 gtx's cuz thats abit of overkill. Lets see now what we can do. Also i dont want to have a HD Raid i'd rather have a gaming drive and a seperate storage drive: like a raptor 10k rpm and 500gig 7200 rpm for storage. Now having more of a budget im wondering if i should go with a x6800 or quad core? i know the quad core is two e6700's in one with essensially is way better than the x6800 but it it a safe route being a newer concept and not being out that long? Also how easy it is to setup watercooling and should i just go with fans if i dont feel like risking it? Last but not lease I heard coolermaster is a good case to go with any other tips, please feel free to drop in your own set ups.

I'd perfer CPU- Intell
HD One fast for gaming and one for storage
Video- only 1 gtx 8800
Mobo- a really good one resonable price to fit the cpu i get
Cooling- water if its safe and wise, or a great fan set up so i can leanr to OC
Monitor- Don't know if widescreen is good for gaming in this day and age but i'd perfer a flat panel lcd with less than 5 ms and close to a 1000-1 contrast ratio(maybe two if a good price)
and a good pair of opitcal drives

Thx for trying to convince me to get hte most out of this experiance, i hope i can successfully say one day soon, "I build my computer" .
__________________

Dee_Dubayah is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Default

P.S. nothing agaist 16 yr olds, i know some of you out there are very smart and capable of great things just none of them live in my town, i had a bad experiance watching some kid help my dad's freinds build his comp. He had to take it to a shop cuz the wiering was all wrong and none of us knew how to fix it.
__________________

Dee_Dubayah is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Paul_Wall_117
You're sixteen? That's more than ample age to have at least half the intelligence required to do this. It's really not that hard.

After a minute or two of googling, I came up with this:

http://tools.corsairmemory.com/syste...eport_id=12472

It's a sort of in depth guide, just take a browse over it and you'll see just how ****ing easy it is. You really don't have to be a nerd to do it, I mean, it's pretty much fool proof. All you have to do is not physically break anything when you are putting it together and that's it. If everything goes in the slot/socket it goes in without having to break it, you've got it. Of course it's actually a little more complicated than that, but you get the picture, right?
Great tut. Thanks!
Sightless is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
Now having more of a budget im wondering if i should go with a x6800 or quad core? i know the quad core is two e6700's in one with essensially is way better than the x6800 but it it a safe route being a newer concept and not being out that long?
I'd hold off the quad, unless you just want bragging rights. The Core 2 Duo's have plenty of punch... the quad only helps out if you're doing a buttload of stuff at once. Besides, right now they're "franken-chips"... two C2D's slapped together. Give 'em time to make it one piece.

Quote:
Last but not lease I heard coolermaster is a good case to go with any other tips, please feel free to drop in your own set ups.
I love mine, but there are a lot of great cases out there. Look at Antec, ThermalTake, Liu Lan (or how ever you spell it), Chenming, Gigabyte. Keep an eye for strength and airflow. The Armor and Kandalf by ThermalTake are awesome... there's a new Kandalf with built-in watercooling, the Kandalf LCS VD4000:
http://www.hardware.info/en-UK/artic...VD4000_review/
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 09:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Besides, right now they're "franken-chips"... two C2D's slapped together. Give 'em time to make it one piece.
Quote:
Originally posted by Poncho
Its quite accurate. A couple years ago they went through training at all the Intel fabs where they taught the people how to glue CPUs together properly. It took some time... and A LOT of super glue... but I think the result was well worth it. I've actually seen reports on the money saved if Intel would get into the glue making business. That's the real outcome of the efficiency action taking place within intel right now and the costs that would be saved are insane.


And the advantage, for Intel, of having a "native" design over a "non-native" one is...?

Nothing.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 09:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Default

that case looks great, any idea if the water cooling system built in is quality or not?
Dee_Dubayah is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 10:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

If you're gonna get a case and got some money to spend i'd suggest getting one that places the PSU on the bottom. It'll provide better airflow for the other components and keep the power supply out of the way.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 11:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
And the advantage, for Intel, of having a "native" design over a "non-native" one is...?

Nothing.
The problem with trying to weld two chips into one it that you still have two chips, not a seamless package. And anything that is glued/welded together is only as strong as the bond of the material used.

Yeah, they work... but not as well as they could if Intel hadn't rushed the job to go for bragging rights.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 02:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Its one physical processor that contains 4 cores under the heatspreader. It doesn't matter if those 4 cores are 2 x 2, or 1 x 4, they will provide the same performance either way. As for the bond of the material used...you do realize that the glue was a joke? Its welded together as firmly as any other piece of hardware.

Intel does not use a HyperTransport Bus, so communication between the processors stays the same in either scenario, over the FSB. Yes, in a Native Quad Core, one core could theoretically have all 8MB of shared cache to itself, assuming the other 3 cores were Idling. However, few real-world programs use that much cache. Faster SuperPi times, mostly.

Point is, and this is directed at AMD's CEO Hector Ruiz as much as anyone else, that saying Intel's processor is not a true quad core, or a 'mutilated' form of one is baloney. Its one chip with 4 cores, and it performs. The situations for the two companies are quite different; Intel does not benefit at all from a Native design, while AMD's entire foundation (HyperTransport Bus) would be destroyed if they did not have a native design. Neither company is going for any sort of bragging rights, simply whatever makes business sense. Intel didn't rush anything, seeing as they don't have any plans for a native Quad-Core or Octa-Core in the near future.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 02:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

eclipse...
do you realize that amd whom you so smash pioneered the technology which makes the c2d so fast?
that's what cracks me up...
i.e. no worthless northbridge...?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.