4200+ or 4800+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2006, 04:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default 4200+ or 4800+

Hey guys new to the forums,
But looking for some advice, I’ll be building a new computer soon and the CPU's have just been dropping in price like crazy. I am currently stuck between either an AMD 4200+ or a 4800+. Now all I really see as a difference is the 1mb per core vs 512kb per core and 200Mhz. That was one of the few things I never really understood when it came to CPU’s the “cores” I know there important but there is a good $120 price difference. What do yawl think?

Sharpy is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 36

the 4200 can only access memory up to 733 MHz, while the 4800 can do up to 800. definitely shell out for a 4800. it'll be a long time before you'll need to upgrade for either anyway.

take a look:

wowie is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 05:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

^^ that appears to be for socket AM2. he's considering the 4800+, which i believe is only for socket 939.

anyways... i don't think the $120 difference justifies the 4800+.. although it is a great chip... i guess it depends on your funds..
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 05:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

go for the 4400 x2 it's the best of both sides.... cheaper price, and 1MB L2 cache

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia

Originally posted by Nukem
go for the 4400 x2 it's the best of both sides.... cheaper price, and 1MB L2 cache
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 06:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

Yea just get the X2 4400+ and overclock to or past 4800+ speeds.


b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 07:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869

Just curious, why not a Core 2 Duo? Just get a E6300 and overclock to or past FX-62 speeds...and then some.

Look how a E6300 ($6 more than a X2 4200+) performs compared to other processors.

And then look at how it overclocks.

Avg overclock = 3GHz. Dual Core. AMD procs can barely even overclock to it, much less match its performance at the same clockspeed.
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 08:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4

Thx for all the input. Iv used intel in every system iv built up to this date and i really want to give AMD a try. Iv hear nothing but good things about AMD when it comes to games. Crysis will be coming out soon and that’s pretty much the whole reason for building this new system.
Also this CPU is 939 socket and i had planned on running 2GB of OCZ DDR500. Should i scratch this and go up to AM2? Because it was my understanding that unless you run the top of the line DDR2 Memory there really was not much of a difference.
Sharpy is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 08:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Well if your going 939 (which you should because it's seen better days) and your overclocking then get that ram otherwise get pc3200 400MHz. If you going with AM2 get some nice DDR800 ram with nice and low timings.


reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.