is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 08:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

i would take a 5000 BE over the 2180, but the 2180 is a definitely a good, low-cost chip (half as much as the 5000). dont know too much about the e4500.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:01 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
But just curious if you would have read the stickies why would you suggest power supplies like those that are garbage?
ok.. first of all.. u don't know much about PSUs... because u say a Fortron 450w is garbage? in most low-end builds... we recommend this.. I've been here long enough.. and seen this recommended a lot.. I've even used it personally.. and its a GREAT PSU... ask some of the other regulars.. its a good PSU... if fade2black or Saltynay was here.. they'd show u that link with which they ran the 8800gtx in there...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

Idk no one really answered my question i know its a bad PSU and what not but will the computer be able to run with that much power? im trying to keep cost under $750 its not for me for a friend
Iokewe is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

yeh it probably will run the computer, but it could be unstable, dangerous, or dead very soon. Might even be a good psu. Thats the risk you take. Generally no one that knows something about computing uses a case psu.

say to your friend spend bit more or you might fry your hardware.. he'll soon find the $100

better to have a worse case then psu.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

yes the fortron will be just fine for that build.
if you are going to want to upgrade your GFX card later, you may want to buy the corsair that was suggested.
although, power usage is getting so low now that by next year you will be able to run an octo-core cpu and 3 high end graphics cards on a 300W psu.
lol i wish.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

lol.. someday (day-dreaming time!!)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:25 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

I currently have a 420W case PSU in the rig in my sig, been running it fine for the past 8 months since my Aspire 520W PSU blew up in smoke.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 11:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

you bumped a nearly month old thread... he's probably already bought one by now...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:06 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

You're right, holy ****. Used to front page stuff being from today. Early morning > me.
__________________
  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Old 12-25-2007, 12:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
lol.. someday (day-dreaming time!!)
in the future our computers will be just one chip like a cpu and itl plug into a socket in the wall, and will stream everythign wirrelessly to your mouse keyboard and monitors and will be infenitlyy powerfull to the point you will never need to upgrade, thats the future i wana live in.

the fps fortron will be very good, for what you need, would be a good idea to get the corsair 520hx tho. and for a cheap case get the cm centurion 5 only like 50 bucks, looks good, and quite roomy, its preaty much the only case you should consider with your budget, i kno that tiger direct has some really good case+ psu bundles, and not with like cheap psu's either like an ultra x3 and stuff like that.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.