is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2007, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

i mean 480watts forgot i changed the case
__________________

Iokewe is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

lmao.. he's using a Case PSU, thats a huge NO NO in PC World...

"PSU

The Power Source is the most common part that people spend too much on. With all the ad's in magazines and online about "1000w rated PSU's for the high-performance PC! many people have got the wrong impression of what they need to power their system with ease. The most IMPORTANT thing to note about power supplies are that how much power a system needs is in no way the amount of "watts" rated. For most PC's these days what you should be looking at is the amount of Amps rated on the 12v rails. The components that draw the most power on your system use the power on the 12V rails. CPU's, and Video cards draw power from the 12V alone and just those two can easily hit well over 300w's alone. The other rails don't really worry about too much if you can meet the needs of the 12V's, especially on a gaming PC. When choosing a power source you should find out how many amps combined it has the on the 12's first, and on PSU's with multiple rails you cannot simply just add the amps up on both rails as it's nowhere that simple of a process. Most of the better quality trusted PSU's will tell you on the side label or in the specs the actual amperage the 12V rails give off. So then before you even starting looking for a PSU that will work for your needs, you must then know how many amps you need to safely power your system right? To find out this the only thing I can really tell you is to research how many your system will actually need. I will tell you now though that most likely the total your system will need will be a LOT less than that of what the really expensive PSUs have. A Quad-Core system at around 3.6ghz with an 8800Ultra heavily overclocked, a couple hard drives, and a couple optical drives will easily run on a trusted PSU that is rated around 40amps if not less. The Corsair 5500VX has a combined total of 41amps on the 12V's and can be had for only $100 bucks at the moment which is quite a cheap PSU compared to how expensive the other parts are right? This is just simply because people don't really realize how little power their systems actually need to run smoothly and safely. The average system will NOT need a very expensive power supply to run everything well. There are a few budget yet trusted power supplies that can be had for around $50 that will power the majority of gaming systems safely. The reason why there are all these expensive PSU's out there costing so much is quoted by B1gapl "most people usually go the "better to be safe, than sorry" method, with choosing power supplies.....but what they don't know, is that the safe bar is much lower, than it is"
If you are looking to maximize the performance in a build then the power supply is something you want to research a lot. I do want to stress the fact though that if you buy a cheaper PSU make sure you know which are "trusted" power sources so you don't fry your system. I may be telling you to look into cheaper PSU's but I am in no way telling you to look into cheaper quality ones. There is a HUGE difference in the two."

direct of the stickies which no n00bs take the time to read anymore..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

any suggestions on a case an power supply i could get or is the 480w in the case enough even though it comes with the case. Im looking to make sure it works.
Iokewe is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
lmao.. he's using a Case PSU, thats a huge NO NO in PC World...

"PSU

The Power Source is the most common part that people spend too much on. With all the ad's in magazines and online about "1000w rated PSU's for the high-performance PC! many people have got the wrong impression of what they need to power their system with ease. The most IMPORTANT thing to note about power supplies are that how much power a system needs is in no way the amount of "watts" rated. For most PC's these days what you should be looking at is the amount of Amps rated on the 12v rails. The components that draw the most power on your system use the power on the 12V rails. CPU's, and Video cards draw power from the 12V alone and just those two can easily hit well over 300w's alone. The other rails don't really worry about too much if you can meet the needs of the 12V's, especially on a gaming PC. When choosing a power source you should find out how many amps combined it has the on the 12's first, and on PSU's with multiple rails you cannot simply just add the amps up on both rails as it's nowhere that simple of a process. Most of the better quality trusted PSU's will tell you on the side label or in the specs the actual amperage the 12V rails give off. So then before you even starting looking for a PSU that will work for your needs, you must then know how many amps you need to safely power your system right? To find out this the only thing I can really tell you is to research how many your system will actually need. I will tell you now though that most likely the total your system will need will be a LOT less than that of what the really expensive PSUs have. A Quad-Core system at around 3.6ghz with an 8800Ultra heavily overclocked, a couple hard drives, and a couple optical drives will easily run on a trusted PSU that is rated around 40amps if not less. The Corsair 5500VX has a combined total of 41amps on the 12V's and can be had for only $100 bucks at the moment which is quite a cheap PSU compared to how expensive the other parts are right? This is just simply because people don't really realize how little power their systems actually need to run smoothly and safely. The average system will NOT need a very expensive power supply to run everything well. There are a few budget yet trusted power supplies that can be had for around $50 that will power the majority of gaming systems safely. The reason why there are all these expensive PSU's out there costing so much is quoted by B1gapl "most people usually go the "better to be safe, than sorry" method, with choosing power supplies.....but what they don't know, is that the safe bar is much lower, than it is"
If you are looking to maximize the performance in a build then the power supply is something you want to research a lot. I do want to stress the fact though that if you buy a cheaper PSU make sure you know which are "trusted" power sources so you don't fry your system. I may be telling you to look into cheaper PSU's but I am in no way telling you to look into cheaper quality ones. There is a HUGE difference in the two."

direct of the stickies which no n00bs take the time to read anymore..
Im sure when you first joined you did not read the stickies so no need for name calling.

Most suggest you not use the power supply that comes with a case because it is likely going to be a crappy power supply. If you can save up to get a Corsair 520HX from clubit that would be awesome!
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

my recommendation is to just find that case without the Garbage PSU included...

and get this:

Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN ATX12V 450W Power Supply 110/240V NEMKO, TUV, CSA, IEC, UL, CE - Retail

has enough amperage for ur system... maybe an Xclio 550 maybe necessary... but the Fortron should be enough..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpixel View Post
Im sure when you first joined you did not read the stickies so no need for name calling.

Most suggest you not use the power supply that comes with a case because it is likely going to be a crappy power supply. If you can save up to get a Corsair 520HX from clubit that would be awesome!
i'm not really blaming him.. because its sorta in a hidden place... (and FYI i did.. because i didn't wanna look stupid when i posted something that was stickied)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iokewe View Post
$750 Computer With OS and Shipping

Windows XP OS
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows XP Home With SP2B 1 Pack - OEM

AMD 64Athlon 5200+ 2.6ghz
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ Windsor 2.6GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor - Retail

G.Skill 2g Memory
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Asus DVD/CD Drive
Newegg.com - ASUS Black 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM ATAPI/E-IDE DVD-ROM Drive Model DVD-E616A3 OEM - OEM

XFX 8600GT 256 128bit Graphics Card
Newegg.com - XFX PVT84JUDD3 GeForce 8600GT XXX 256MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Foxconn ATX Mother Board
Newegg.com - Foxconn N570SM2AA-8EKRS2H AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

250gb 7200RPM Hard Drive
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

ATX Mid Case 480Wats
Newegg.com - ATRIX CSCI-G8022C-C43 Black 0.8mm SECC steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 480W Power Supply - Retail

$633.93 Computer

$100.26 Shipping


Total = $734.19
no no no no no...
for a little more, you can get a 5000 black edition and overclock it like mad (it has an unlocked multiplier, like an FX chip).
but, you will have to buy a HSF for it, which is like another 20 bucks.
but, i would suggest (if you want to spend LESS money) the x2 4000 brisbane. its HALF the price and will (no doubt, but read below) overclock just as high as the 5200.
mobo...meh i haven't heard brilliant thigns about the 570 chipsets (overclocking-wise). although, mostly what i read in the negative has to do with the asus boards, so you may be okay with the foxconn.

i would spend the 60 bucks you save on the cpu for a mobo with a 590 sli chipset. thats just me.
foxconn makes a really good one from what i hear/read/know.
or an NF4 ultra, but they are hard to find and getting kinda out-dated.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
my recommendation is to just find that case without the Garbage PSU included...

and get this:

Newegg.com - FSP Group (Fortron Source) AX450-PN ATX12V 450W Power Supply 110/240V NEMKO, TUV, CSA, IEC, UL, CE - Retail

has enough amperage for ur system... maybe an Xclio 550 maybe necessary... but the Fortron should be enough..



i'm not really blaming him.. because its sorta in a hidden place... (and FYI i did.. because i didn't wanna look stupid when i posted something that was stickied)
But just curious if you would have read the stickies why would you suggest power supplies like those that are garbage?
__________________
A hero need not speak. When he is gone, the world will speak for him.
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

my recommendation is... dont buy XP and get a 8800GT hehe (if you got a computer already that is)

also id get a case without a PowerSupply and put a half decent one in.

appart from that generally its looking alright.

i take it your a gamer yeh?
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 08:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: is 400W enough for a 8600GT Card

e2180 and e4500 are great too....
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card and/or motherboard issues sdness Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-13-2008 01:41 AM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.