4000+ San Diego vs. X2 3800+ Manchester - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default 4000+ San Diego vs. X2 3800+ Manchester

Which CPU would perform better in current games and which one would perform better in games 1-2 years from now?
__________________

j4ckaL is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

4000+ then X2
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

How long do you think it will be before the X2 passes the 4000+?
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

whenever games start supporting dual core. which i would say next year if FEAR is able to support if fully

it depends if sales of the X2s goes up. and other dual core processors. then the game makers will be like OH everyone is buying a dual core. so we need to make use of it. so they make use of the dual core and everyoen buys the games. and laughs at the people who bought fx series and so on
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

oh yeah, I ment to say 4200+ which is basically the same thing so w/e.

I guess it would be smarter to go with the X2 4200+ then because even if it is slightly less powerful than the 4000+ now it will be better in a year or so if games take advantage of it. BUT what if games don't take advantage of dual core and I wasted my money by not getting the 4000+ which has a larger L2 cache. Man, I don't know which to get now.
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

they 4000+ only has 1MB cache. so does the 4200+ its just 512x2

i would recommend the 4400 with 2 mb cache. but anyways get the X2 better for the money.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 10:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Benchmark wise? Or just performance wise?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Benchmark wise? Or just performance wise?
What's the difference?
__________________

j4ckaL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.