400$ upgrade. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2008, 04:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

does everything cost that much in c-eh-en-eh-dee-eh?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

I think that is an incorrect way to pronounce canada, if that's what you were spelling.
__________________

__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

lol....not if you're from canada, eh. you should know that, eh...you're close enough to it.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 05:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

its a litle more over priced but you have to realise that is a retail store, conpareble to best buy, well there owned by the same company. where ever they build a future shop they build a best buy right next dor i never understand that concept. anyway, id wrather just go buy it in store, i may be able to rpice match it tho not sure. alltho im an nvidia fan to lol. will i noticed a speed diferece from th 8800gts to the gtx260? in games like crysis, cod4, ut3, also warhammmer online slaughers my gpu maxed out i get 20/40 fps, its bad, and ic ant sell my 8800gts my dad is buying my bros a prebuilt for 200$ with an e2180 and 2gb of ram in it, so im giving thme a psu and my gpu so they can get into pc gaming. and not be so attavhed to there darn 360.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 05:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

cod4 and ut3...really? i get upwards of 90fps with both of those maxed out with 2-4AA and high AF...till i run through smoke lol.
i had a gtx280 that i was testing in my rig for another rig i was building and to be perfectly honest...i couldn't tell a difference at all. a definite framerate increase over my g92, but nothing heart-stopping.
i dont play crysis, so i dont know if it would help in that game.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 05:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

well its fien in ut 3 and co4 but it still strugles in obliviom all maxed and 8 x aa with hdr, im only at 1280x1024 and for a 3 year old game it shouldnt be strugling. red alert 3 beta it strugled a litle to. i think im just expecting to much out of it. but ya i wana get into warhammer online and in public quests getting 20fps isnt to good. and i get something similar in rvr. my biggest worry tho is the card has toruble with oblivion and there is supose to be more pixels in the menu of fall out 3 then there is in any seen of oblivion. also i want to be ready for farcry 2 and crysis warhead.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 09:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
there is supose to be more pixels in the menu of fall out 3 then there is in any seen of oblivion. also i want to be ready for farcry 2 and crysis warhead.
You know even the newer generations of cards that will come out. Like maybe the Ati 5870 will probably still have a hard time with warhead.

By the way I know how you feel. Its a pain when computer illiterate people look at price tag only. My parents tend to be the same way.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 09:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: 400$ upgrade.

im looking at a hd4870 for 289.99 at best buy but its a litle to pricey. il see what i get once i get there.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Upgrade Issues aeroplane22 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-20-2008 08:45 PM
Forseeable price drops? My possible upgrade plan. Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-04-2007 02:21 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM
Upgrade Advice for my system Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-25-2007 02:28 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.