4 gigs of ram? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2006, 09:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 232

Originally posted by NeedAcpu
Actually launching your own spaceship might require less memory then some of the games out today :P
Haha, just what I was thinking too.

Infomatic is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738

Great minds think alike

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

Originally posted by Brtnboarder495
99% of the people in the world would never use 4Gb of memory, currently.

It's only for 64bit OS', and just really not even logical to buy as it's not needed unless your trying to launch a NASA space shuttle ...

2x1Gb will yield better timings too, and is definitely the better way to go.
Nah, 32-bit Linux works great with 4gb of ram, but Windows is another story.
The General is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339

32 bit should have no problem using 4 GB as it's the natural hardware limit but like the general said when poorly coded it may not work so well such as winodws.

Your right most don't use the same applications I do but many games today even take such ram then if you add in Vista which is due in half a years time it's another story.
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 10:11 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969

Originally posted by Tyler1989
I regret buying 2 GBs of ram and I wish I bougt 4. Daily I max out my 2 GBs of ram.
What apps do you use?
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b></b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
boomstick666's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743

mac G5 can take 8G of dual channels. and if theres more slots, you can actually put more. its just windows have problem allocating 3G or more memory.
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 12:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

Mac G5 is 64-bit.
The General is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:23 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

If you get a AMD AM2 or Conroe board you can stick 8GB in.

You also need more VRAM as well. I have warnings that my VRAM is running low. I have a 256MB card btw.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-28-2006, 01:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

You have an AM2 mobo/cpu?

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.