4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

Hey, running a Quad Core CPU and 4GB of G Skill PI Black. Would upgrading to 8 GB be worth it, would I notice much of a difference?

I'm running Vista 64 bit and thought about upgrading what with the cheap price of DDR2 these days.
__________________

delirium330 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

most likely won't need it
__________________

AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
most likely won't need it
I agree - it really depends on what you're doing on it, though. I know very few games which will take advantage of even 4GB, but if you do stuff like video editing and such, that can take up a lot of RAM. Also anything to do with Adobe Suite.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

i dont think its worth it at this time unless you're a video encoding buff of like adobe stuff, if its purely for gaming, the only game known to beneifit is crysis, and that only increases minimum fps, not average so much. so no, you wont notice a difference from 4gb to 8gb.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

I agree with the above, unless you're in to really high end stuff I don't think it's worth it. 4gb should be plenty.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

IMO, if DDR2 is being phased out which right now it isn't I would stock up on it, then again, I am one of them people that keep the same rig around for up to ten years, may not use it that long, but I use them for small things.... It just depends on if you plan on keeping that build in the future, and really might need 8GB of ram....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

indeed. 6GB is more than enough, ive never been able to use more than 5GB and thats with Vista pagefile disabled, i have no idea what one would do with 8GB....

edit: this was in response to jorsoft. charles beat me to the reply :P
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default Re: 4 to 8 GB of RAM worth it?

k, yea i dont game much and only do amateur video editing. thanks for the suggestions
__________________

delirium330 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Utilize full power of ram lockheart System Upgrades 1 12-18-2008 02:40 AM
pagefile on a ram disk? White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-17-2008 03:27 PM
Adding RAM to my laptop dominican2589 System Upgrades 4 12-12-2008 01:24 PM
RAM Upgrade mcarlg System Upgrades 9 12-07-2008 03:16 PM
RAM Question b0bby System Upgrades 9 04-21-2008 11:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.