3GB of RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2007, 03:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default 3GB of RAM

My motherboard is an Asus P5LD2 SE/C, and I'm using 32-bit Windows XP Home. I currently have 2x512MB, and want to add 2x1GB for a total of 3GB, only I was told that this wasn't possible for some reason. The exact words were: "You can only add RAM in two (ie. 2x1GB or 4x1GB or 4x512MB)."
__________________

Jewels is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 03:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

You can, but you won't see much of a performance jump as you would if you put just the 2x1GB in. with 3GB, even in pairs, you won't utilize the duel channel capability. 2GB is more than capable for 32bit XP.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 04:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
You can, but you won't see much of a performance jump as you would if you put just the 2x1GB in. with 3GB, even in pairs, you won't utilize the duel channel capability. 2GB is more than capable for 32bit XP.
If he has 2x512mb and adds 2x1gb they will still all run in dual channel mode.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 05:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

Well I was under the impression that I could add 2x1GB in dual channel, alongside my current 2x512MB in dual channel.
Jewels is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 05:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

That's true. And I say go for it. You'll notice a definite increase in performance going from 1gb to 3gb
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-30-2007, 10:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
ShaolinDreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 457
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

it cant do no harm

goodluck with it.. let us know how it goes.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Intel Core 2 E6600 @ 3Ghz -Upgrade- Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro 25C/35C
Asus P5N-D Nforce 750i 1333FSB
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2 800MHz -Upgrade- Crucial Ballistix Tracer RED 2x2GB 800Mhz
2x SataII, 2x IDE Total = 1.1Tb
EVGA 8800GTS 512mb 'Crysis Edition' @ 750/1900/2000
Onboard Realtek 8.1 Sound Jazzy!
Hiper Type-R 580w -Upgrade- Gigabyte ODIN GT 800W
Modded iCute -Upgrade- Antec 900
19" Iiyama CRT -NEXT Upgrade!- Samsung SM-T260HD 26" w/ Digital TV Tuner / Samsung SM-T240 24"

3DMark06 Score- 13k :)
ShaolinDreams is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 10:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK | London
Posts: 138
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

Well I did it, and yes I'm seeing a good improvement. 1 GB was nowhere near enough for me before, considering I had so many slowdowns which have now almost disappeared.
Jewels is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 10:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

Yeah you'll find some loading times are faster and alt-tabbing out of games doesn't dog down the puter like it used to
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 12:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

For the price of ram these days, its definately worth going above 1gb.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-04-2007, 01:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: 3GB of RAM

1GB DDR2 pc6400 £18
1GB DDR pc3200 £32
__________________

Nick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
4gb of ram david15549 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-25-2007 03:05 PM
RAM RAM RAM lol SirCyber New Systems | Building and Buying 22 10-17-2007 01:24 PM
RAM Problems? cfgcjm New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-02-2007 12:53 PM
RAM Probelems...maybe? cfgcjm Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-20-2007 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.