3ds benchmark. help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2007, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 160
Default 3ds benchmark. help?

I just ran the test and I got 6550 3dmarks. i seem to have a good pc compared to others BUT I got 0 FPS on both CPU test!!!!!! why? And my max on any test was 31fps. Is this right? My specs are below. I ran the test at 1152x864 and default settings.
__________________

__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
CPU: Intel core i7 920 3.6GHz
MOBO: Asus P6TD Deluxe
RAM: 6GB DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Dominator GT
Graphics: 2x Gigabyte GTX 260 Super overclocked
Sound: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: 850W Corsair
Snake64_009 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

interesting, amazingly enough i get 1-2fps on the cpu test, but the graphics dont even look that complicated
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 07:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

lol, I got 1.2 fps on mine. It's meant to be like that me thinks.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

Yeah, my comp continually gets pwned by that CPU test, not sure what is so complex about it...
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 07:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

The reason why is a CPU is slower than a GPU. CPU process slower than GPUs.

Most modern CPU can only do a few Gigaflops(up to 20). A Pentuim 4 can only do 6GFLPOS. Althon 64 can do up to 9GFLOPS. C2D can only do around 12-15GFLPOS. Most high-end CPU, like Intel Itanium 2 with 4 CPU, dual-core can only reach around 45GFLPOS.

But a Graphic card can do up to 400GFLOPS. The X1950XTX can do around 375GFLOPS per second. In Crossfire, it can reach up to 750GFLOPS, equivalent to 31 Xeon 5100 processors. Nvidia Geforce 7950 GX2 dual-GPU card is rated at 384 GFLOPS and Ageia's physics processor at 96 GFLOPs. The 8800GTX, by itself can reach 520GFLOPS.

Only if our computers' CPU is made of a GPU, then it would be super fast.

That is also how supercomputers are made, with something similar to GPU.
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 08:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

yeah... just quietly... I'm a GPU.
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

wait... i go really fast?
Oh boy, on second thoughts, I take that back.
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 08:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 160
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

ah right ok. That settles soem things then. What about the 30fps for my gpu test? Is that what i should have expected?
__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
CPU: Intel core i7 920 3.6GHz
MOBO: Asus P6TD Deluxe
RAM: 6GB DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Dominator GT
Graphics: 2x Gigabyte GTX 260 Super overclocked
Sound: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: 850W Corsair
Snake64_009 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 08:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

how did that happen? u might wanna get something RMA'ed or something ??
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 160
Default Re: 3ds benchmark. help?

I don't know. I play bf2 on highest settings with AA off fine with no lag. So why 30fps?!?!
__________________

__________________
Case: Silverstone TJ09
CPU: Intel core i7 920 3.6GHz
MOBO: Asus P6TD Deluxe
RAM: 6GB DDR3 1600MHz Corsair Dominator GT
Graphics: 2x Gigabyte GTX 260 Super overclocked
Sound: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: 850W Corsair
Snake64_009 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please read, finally got a benchmark out ( Status on my overheating gtx ) Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-22-2007 10:26 AM
Benchmark 2006 + GTX = Turn off Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-21-2007 02:26 AM
External HDD benchmark TheMajor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 06-20-2007 08:00 AM
Can any benchmark programs work? veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-14-2007 11:23 AM
Benchmark Results pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 06-07-2007 02:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.